Southern Style

image

Over the weekend we attended a function where everyone brought a dish to share. I confess I made desserts from a box. Would rather have not but it was all time would allow. One woman brought the best fried chicken I have ever tasted. I wanted to ask for the recipe but my husband noticed a liner with a logo on it. Darn it, that chicken was from Popeye’s!

That chicken inspired tonight’s dinner though. Nothing fancy. Just hamhocks and black eyed peas. Some greens and cornbread with honey. Got the peas simmering now with some smoked hamhocks. I added some Slap Ya Mama seasoning to the peas as well. I like the taste of white pepper truth be told.
Kitchen smells pretty heavenly at the moment.

Leave a Reply

