Brownies!

If I was stranded on an island and could only have two things it would have to be chocolate and some stout. Not the wisest of choices but hey I don’t actually plan on being stranded on an island and if I ever do find myself in that scenario I doubt I would have had time to plan right?

I think I have mentioned I have a dessert making phobia. I just feeling like I am not good at desserts. I can make cookies and mean pudding pie but who else can’t? I have for years and years only made my brownies out of a box. Yeah I know ick. This past summer I stumbled on a brownies from scratch recipe in Fine Cooking Magazine. Actually they are the “Ultimate Fudgy Brownies” recipe.

I gave it a try and was not expecting much. I am not sure I have ever eaten a from scratch brownie ever in my life so what was I to expect? Ok so there is a difference. They were really good.

Here is the recipe:

12 oz. (1 1/2 cups) unsalted butter, cut into 9 pieces; more softened for the pan
3-3/4 oz. (1-1/4 cups) unsweetened natural cocoa powder, sifted if lumpy
2-3/4 cups granulated sugar
1/2 tsp. table salt
5 large eggs
2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
7-1/2 oz. (1-2/3 cups) all-purpose flour

Position a rack in the center of the oven and heat the oven to 325°F. Line the bottom and sides of a 9×13-inch straight-sided metal baking pan with heavy-duty aluminum foil, leaving about a 2-inch overhang on the short sides. Lightly butter the foil.

Put the butter in a large (4-quart) saucepan over medium-low heat and stir occasionally until melted, about 2 minutes. Off the heat, whisk in the cocoa powder until smooth, 1 minute. Add the sugar and salt, and whisk until well blended. Use your fingertip to check the temperature of the batter—it should be warm, not hot. If it’s hot, set the pan aside for a minute or two before continuing.

Whisk in the eggs, two and then three at a time, until just blended. Whisk in the vanilla until the batter is well blended. Sprinkle the flour over the batter and stir with a rubber spatula until just blended.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and spread evenly. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with small bits of brownie sticking to it, 35 to 45 minutes. For fudgy brownies, do not overbake. Cool the brownies completely in the pan on a rack, about 3 hours.

When the brownies are cool, use the foil overhang to lift them from the pan. Invert onto a cutting board and carefully peel away the foil. Flip again and cut into 24 squares.

Now I had seen a recipe for German Chocolate Brownies and was making a sort of Octoberfest (late for it though) dinner and sort of got it in my mind these would be perfect so I made the following topping for these brownies.

  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup flaked coconut
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 2 tablespoons corn syrup (I actually used Lyle’s Golden Syrup instead as I like the taste better)

  • 2 tablespoons  milk

Mix the above together in a bowl and then spread over warm brownies.

Now I wish I had pictures to share.  Thing is with three kids in the house, myself, my husband and a visiting Marine who took a few for the road and some to my son, they were gone faster than anything. Maybe next time I will get some pictures.

Meow!

Leave a Reply

