My Adventures In Pasta Making

I ran my mouth long enough around here about making pasta from scratch. My husband bought me an attachment for my Kitchen Aid mixer a couple of years ago. Never used it. My middle son was really wanting to try this pasta making thing out. We watched countless videos and read a lot of recipes in books and on websites and it started to look easy. So one rain day when I had pasta planned anyhow we went for it. I kept telling myself that I had a box of pasta should I screw this up.

So I started my morning feeding a starter for sourdough and making two loaves of a Rustic Sourdough Bread that came with my King Arthur starter. I put one in the freezer to see how that fares and the other I planned to make a garlic parm toast out of to go with dinner. Easy enough. Sliced the bread length wise after it was cool. Rubbed a bulb of garlic I had cut in half on each big half of the bread, then a bit of olive oil , some fresh parm and some fresh basil from the garden. Toast under the broiler and your done.

I used the following recipe from All Recipes website. To be honest. My kids and I found it to be a bit to much egg taste. Reminded us of egg noodles. Not a bad thing but just wasn’t what we were ready for. I would make it again but might not use it for the pasta sauce I made to go with it.

So here is what you need
* 2 cups all-purpose flour
* 2 cups semolina flour
* 1 pinch salt
* 6 large eggs
* 2 tablespoons olive oil

So here’s what you do:
1. Thoroughly sift together all-purpose flour, semolina flour, and pinch of salt. On a clean surface, make a mountain out of flour mixture then make a deep well in center. Break the eggs into the well and add olive oil. Whisk eggs very gently with a fork, gradually incorporating flour from the sides of the well. When mixture becomes too thick to mix with a fork, begin kneading with your hands.
2. Knead dough for 8 to 12 minutes, until it is smooth and supple. Dust dough and work surface with semolina as needed to keep dough from becoming sticky. Wrap dough tightly in plastic and allow it to rest at room temperature for 30 minutes.
3. Roll out dough with a pasta machine or a rolling pin to desired thickness. Cut into your favorite style of noodle or stuff with your favorite filling to make ravioli. Bring water to a boil in a large pot, then add 4 teaspoons salt. Cook pasta until tender but not mushy, 1 to 8 minutes depending on thickness. Drain immediately and toss with your favorite sauce.

I cooked my noodles for two minutes then tossed them in the sauce I made which was a recipe I found in the Ocotober 2010 Bon Appetit Magazine. Check out the link below for the recipe. I think the meatballs and the sauce were really tasty.

Till next time!
Meow


Spaghetti And Meatballs Recipe from Bon Appetit

Leave a Reply

