Cut Out Cookies

image

I am always looking for a great sugar cookie cut out recipe. I had one years ago and it was someone’s grandmother’s but it went missing after a summer we had a great idea of putting our home up for sale and we had to pack up all the “clutter”. Clutter meaning proof someone actually lives in this house. I am missing a great pair of boots still too. That’s another story though.

Anyhow one afternoon I was watching Nigella Lawson and she was making cut out cookies with her kids. Well she made the cookies and then her kids came in and happily decorated the cookies. You know one of those perfect mom moments. Yeah I had to try it. Actually I went so far as to order some monster faces from King Arthur Flour for the boys to make some great cookies. I found some eyeball sprinkles at a local craft store and well we were ready to have one of those picture perfect afternoons.

Decorating Halloween cookies with two boys who clearly were sucking up the confectioners sugar while I wasn’t looking was anything but moment a mom has in her mind. Which honest is rather good. I am not that mom though I secretly think I am at times. They made some down right demented and bloody looking cookies all the while we were cracking up. Yeah it was a perfect afternoon for me.

Now before starting this recipe I read the reviews and was worried about how they would taste. I wont say this is the best recipe on the planet taste but the cookies did retain their shape and it was super easy. I am just not sure what is missing from this to make it a bit more tastier. I also didn’t stick to it. I decided that using a whole stick of softened butter was a better idea. I didn’t have any problems.

I also didn’t use the icing recipe that Nigella had to go with this. We tried it but tossed it and went and made a Royal Icing. It made for a thicker icing that we could get texture for say the Wolfman or Zombie Grover.

Sure our cookies wont ever grace the pages of a magazine or win a contest but we think they are pretty darn fun and well everyone enjoyed them after dinner last night.

Ingredients
Cookies:

* 6 tablespoons soft unsalted butter ( I used one full stick)
* 1/2 cup sugar
* 1 large egg
* 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
* 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
* 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
* 1/2 teaspoon salt
*

Icing:

* 2 to 3 tablespoons just-boiled water
* 1 cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted
* Food coloring, preferably pastes

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Cream the butter and sugar together, then beat in the egg and vanilla. In another bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the butter and eggs, and mix. Form into a fat disk, wrap in plastic wrap, and let rest in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour.

Sprinkle a surface with flour, place disk of dough on it, and sprinkle a little more flour on top of that. Then roll it out to a thickness of about 1/4-inch. Cut into shapes, dipping the cutter into flour as you go, and place the cookies a little apart on 2 parchment lined baking sheets.

Bake for 8 to 12 minutes. Edges should be just start to turn a golden color. Cool completely before icing.

Leave a Reply

