Oh Turkey time , oh turkey time….

I love how I always think I am going to not cook a big meal for Thanksgiving and just do something simple so I can enjoy my family and kick back and watch football. I remember one year we actually skipped cooking and went and saw Toy Story. The original. I think that was the last time I had cooking duty off. Do I mind? Heck no.

Years past I have always been very organized. I have a Thanksgiving menu written out with a shopping list attached for each dish and a time schedule of what to do and when. It’s a traditional menu. Nothing to fancy. My favorite part being a sweet potato pie featuring Southern Comfort which gives me an excuse to buy a new bottle of it every year.

Last year my oldest son was away at bootcamp so I wasn’t going to cook but then thought it would be horrible not to and another mom gave me an idea to take pictures and send them to him. Oh yes I am that kind of evil mom that takes pictures of a plate full of yummy Thanksgiving goodness and sends them to her son who got a Marine Corp Thanksgiving. I think we can laugh about it now. Will find out this year when he is home.

So this year while I am on this culinary adventure of sorts. I got the fab idea to cook one of the featured menus out of the Bon Appetit Thanksgiving Special edition magazine. If you have it turn to page 149 and check out the “A Grand Feast” menu. I am dropping the Apple Cherry Tartlets and Lemon Nutmeg Ice Cream. We can have those another day.

Don’t have the magazine? Ok here is what I am cooking this year:

*Malt-Beer Brined Turkey with Malt Glaze
*Mixed-Mushroom and Tarragon Gravy
*Masa Cornbread Stuffing with Chilies
*Iron Skillet Succotash
* Roasted Sweet Potato Wedges with Smoked Chili Cream
* Cranberry Salsa with Cilantro and Chilies
* Pumpkin Pie with Pepita, Nut and Ginger Topping
*Ginger Whipped Cream

I am happy they have a plan with what to do when. I started my shopping already since there are a few odd ingredients that my local grocery store doesn’t carry. Thansfully Whole Foods had most. I am still looking for pumpkin seed oil locally before I go and order it and hope the local gourmet stores might have it. I am debating for how little I need if I really need it. Though everything I read online seems to claim it has some great health benefits along with a wonderful taste. I’ll keep looking for a bit anyhow.

The pictures look beautiful. I hope mine turns out as pretty.

The bummer part of all of this is I can’t watch any Thanksgiving shows on Food Network or Cooking Channel since my cable provider is fighting over money with them and dropped them quietly last week. I am having serious withdrawls from my favorite programs. Is there a Betty Ford for that and do they serve good food?

Slainte

Leave a Reply

