Snow tires needed

My finger is on the mend. I’ll leave out the gross details as you may be eating or sipping on something while reading this. I am thinking at least in another week I might , just might, be bandage free. We shall see. For now I am down to what I jokingly call a bikini bandage. In other words a band aid over non stick gauze. It’s healing and that is good.

I did take some time to set some goals for myself and I am quite happy to be honest. One being working through the Chef Burton site I posted last time. The other I just jumped into and I am rather excited. I joined the online cooking club of “French Friday’s with Dorie”. So I am going to cook along with the group in her latest book “Around My French Table” by Dorie Greenspan. See last fall I saw an article in my local paper that she was doing a book signing and Q&A at a bookstore not to far from my home. I was so excited until I saw the night and time. My youngest son is a Marine Cadet and well it fell on his drill nights. Same time too. No way I could be in two places at once and well with hubby working in the city and my only teen driver working that night I was totally out of luck. Comes with being a mom. I put her book on my wish list and have been dreaming of it since.

Last Saturday night I found her cooking club and signed up. Sunday morning I went out and happily bought the book along with a journal for me to write my menus and notes in. I spent the rest of that afternoon with a cup of tea and that beautiful cookbook. Later on in the week I happily went about planning my menu. I joined the club late so I plan to make a few of the dishes I missed. Instead of one dish this week I am doing two.

Thing is here in the Northeast they are talking snow. Of course I planned my grocery trip on the day it’s suppose to start and well looks like that might have to change. I hate food shopping in the snow. I just do. I hate shopping the day before a storm even more but I am not seeing away around this even though our local weathermen can’t agree how much we might get. I hate pushing a grocery cart through the snow. Why don’t grocery carts (or carriages as they call them here but I have not picked up in my 17 years living here) have snow tires? Can’t someone invent a better wheel for the northern climates shopping cart needs? Really how hard could it be? I wish I lived someplace I could just walk daily to shop with my basket in hand. I remember my maternal grandmother telling me about this from when she lived in France. It sounds heavenly. My reality is I am going to go shop with the milk and bread hoarders today. Fun fun!

**Later**

After posting this my Marine son sent me the following picture he found online. This might just work for snowy days.

Leave a Reply

