Oatmeal Shortbread

It was snowing outside and it happened to be the Feast of St. Brigid (February 1st) . So I was making Oatmeal Shortbread. I had hoped we would have a fire in our firepit but it happens to be under a couple of feet of snow at the moment. Not happening. So I got out the candles and went to the business of making our feasting food.

My family bought me a beautiful shortbread pan that is made by Brown Bag. The one I have is called “British Isles”. The design pattern has the Scottish Thistle, Irish Celtic Knotwork, Tudor Rose and a Welsh Dragon. I admit I liked this one best as it was mine and my husband’s heritage in one dish. The pan is heavy and works wonders. On the recipe I am doing, I admit the design doesn’t show up as much. It looks impressive in other recipes though and I have never had anything stick to the pan. When I got it it came with a little recipe book but I misplaced it.

I love making shortbread honestly. It’s not hard and with a cup of tea it’s really nice. The following recipe I found on the Brown Bag website (see link at bottom of post) and decided to use steel cut oats. It worked out just fine and was a hit the when I made it so I decided it would be a wonderful substitute for the traditional oatcakes that are usually served on St. Brigid’s feast day.

Oatmeal Shortbread

by Lucy Natkiel

This shortbread has a rich, almost chewy texture.

½ cup butter at room temperature
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
½ teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup plus 2 Tablespoons unsifted all purpose flour
2/3 cup old fashioned rolled oats (not “instant”)

Cream the butter Cream in the brown sugar and vanilla, then 1 cup of the flour, the cinnamon and the rolled oats. You will have to use your hands to work in all of the dry ingredients. Flour a work surface with the 2 Tablespoons of flour and knead the dough until it forms a firm, cohesive ball. It should not be crumbly.

Lightly spray your shortbread pan with a non-stick vegetable oil spray. Place the ball of dough in the center of the pan, and using the heals of your hands, firmly press it into the pan. The dough will be stiff. Prick the entire surface with a fork, and bake the shortbread right in the pan in a 325 oven for 30-35 minutes, or until it is lightly browned.

Let the shortbread cool in the pan for 10 minutes before you loosen the edges with a knife, and flip the pan over onto a wooden or plastic cutting board. If the shortbread doesn’t come right out, hold the pan upside down about 2 – 3 inches over the cutting board and drop it face down. The shortbread should drop right out. Cut into serving pieces with a thin sharp knife while still warm.

To get your own Shortbread Pan visit Brown Bag

One response

Leave a Reply

