Quick weeknight meal- Leeks Fettuccine

I’ve been reading some of the books by Mireille Guiliano from the “French Women Don’t Get Fat” series. I’ve honestly had some great success after making changes to my lifestyle (notice I didn’t say diet) from the great info I have gotten in the books. I didn’t thinking loosing those stubborn pounds was going to be easy. I had been trying other ways (starving doesn’t work at all) and I am not fond of diet foods. I mean have you looked at the list of chemicals and sugar in most of them? If not please go read any of the things you might have in your home or are about to eat.

I love to cook and some of my friends have mentioned they don’t have time to cook like I do, let alone don’t feel like cooking when they reach the end of the day. Hey I totally get that. I have my days of not wanting to cook either or life just gets busy. So I figured I would try to post now and then some of the easy quick meals that my family likes. This one happens to be from Mireille’s “French Women For All Seasons” and is on her website. It’s one of my new favorite pasta recipes. It’s fast, fresh, simple and best of all, my men folk approved. Men out number the ladies in my home and so if it passes their approval and they are full after then it works. I mention this as Leeks Fettuccine looked to simple a recipe and I worried it would not fill my guys. I was happily proven wrong.

The following recipe serves 4. So adjust to your needs. I have not tried it reheated as there is nothing left usually when we serve it.

Leeks Fettuccine
*What you will need:
3⁄4 pound fettuccine
6 tablespoons olive oil
1 pound leeks, white parts only, sliced into 1-inch pieces
4 ounces Parmesan cheese, freshly grated
Salt and freshly ground pepper
8 thin slices of prosciutto

*What to do:

1. Cook your pasta according to the directions or your taste.
2.While pasta is cooking, in another pan, heat oil over medium high and saute Leeks till they are soft and translucent in color.
3. Drain your pasta and then add to the Leeks along with your Parmesan and salt and pepper to taste. Toss to get everything coated.
4. Garnish with the prosciutto.
5. Eat and enjoy.

That’s it! Serve with a nice glass of wine and your good to go. I am telling you this whole thing takes 25 mins tops to make.

One response

  1. Pingback: Leeks | From Shelly's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

