Bistrot Paul Bert’s Steak a la Bourguignonne

This week’s FFWD recipe was actually Bistrot Paul Bert’s Pepper Steak. The recipe as Dorie says in her book comes from a favorite family owned restaurant in Paris. I read over the recipe and thought it sounded delightful but when I looked on the side and saw the “Bonne Idee” for the steak done a la Bourguignone I was sold on that instead. So instead of having a creamy sauce with peppers and Congnac this one was done with red wine, shallots and garlic and some butter of course.

This was a simple, quick and easy dish that I think anyone could do and do well. I even think this would make a week night meal. Dori suggest serving it with Frites (fries) but I went the healthy way and served it with green beans.

Now the recipe does call for Filets Mignons. If you can get them I say enjoy! I admit I wont feed my family anything but organic, hormone and antibiotic free beef so Filets Mignons was out for us. It happened to be $26 a pound. Not happening when you got to feed five people. So I happily went with a cheaper cut of a top round steak. At under $8 a pound and still meeting my organic needs it worked perfectly. I have had Filets Mignons a few times in my life and yes they were melt in your mouth tender but I must say my grass fed top round steak was pretty darn tender and melted in my mouth. So don’t shy away from this recipe if your cooking along in the book and don’t want to buy Filets Mignons. You don’t need to.

For the wine I used Fat Bastard Shiraz. I did forget one thing at the end of making the sauce and that was Dori suggests adding a little cold butter in bits to it. We found my cold butter bits in the bowl a couple days later. Oopss. No mater it was a delicious sauce served over the steak. I used the butter in a pasta sauce a few days later. No I am not afraid of butter in moderation. Your brain needs some fats to function.

So again I can’t post the recipe as per the rules of French Fridays with Dorie cooking club but you can find the recipe in her book “Around My French Table” on page 238.

Oh to those curious….the vanilla eclairs I was doing last week. Total epic failure. I did learn I can make a pretty good custard but pastry is still not something I am to great at. Oh well live and learn.

Leave a Reply

