FFWD-Spinach and Bacon Quiche

So I am going to start out by saying that I cheated with this week’s French Friday with Dorie. Ok the recipe was a spinach and bacon quiche. I know easy. Why would I cheat? How did I cheat? If you’ve been following along you know I am not so good at pastry making. Well believe it or not I make a great pie crust. It’s one of the few pastry things I can do. But that said I had a busy week, wanted to try this recipe and well I had a gluten free pie crust in the freezer I wanted to use and so there you have it , my confession. I didn’t make the pie crust from scratch. You could visit the French Fridays with Dorie site to see others who actually did make their crust. I pre-baked the crust according to the package and enjoyed a little talk with my daughter while doing other things in the kitchen.

Now for those like me who are short on time there was another silly cheat I used. I know gasp I am confessing to more than one. I didn’t use fresh spinach. Or even spinach for that matter. Yes I used frozen that I heated up and squeezed the liquid out of like the recipe asked. Oh and in case your wondering, I used Whole Foods “Green Leafy Mix” which is a mix of collard, dandelion and kale. I also used more than asked for as I am just a big fan of greens.

That being said you could go the route Dori suggested in her book and I am sure you would have a lovely quiche for brunch or a small plate dinner like we had it. But if your short on time remember you can cut a few corners and have similar results. It was delicious. I didn’t have guilt and my oldest daughter was even here to eat and she didn’t seem to care mom didn’t make a pie crust. Nobody said a thing and if they did I would have eaten their helping.

So don’t be afraid to change a recipe to fit your time frame or even your budget. Cooking should be fun and non stressful.

Till next time!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

