My Farmers Market finds

I really love going to our local farmers markets. When I was in my early 20’s I use to load up my kids (three of them , 3 yrs and younger) and take a bus down to downtown Long Beach, California to a farmer’s market there. It was once a week and I at the time I had to make sure to save the bus fare and load 3 crazy kids and a stroller up to get there but we always had a great time. Not only was there food but crafts and live music. It was a great way for me to get the shopping done with small kids and entertain them at the same time. Not to mention being outside was a plus.

I live in Connecticut now, those three kids are adults now (thankfully still have two more to enjoy) and the growing season here is a lot different then California but I think I almost enjoy the farmers markets more. There’s just something about going and shopping in an open air market, seeing some of your neighbors, and talking with the vendors that really makes the warm weather just that much better. I get inspired seeing all the fresh produce displayed like a beautiful painting.

That said, I thought I’d share over this season some of my favorite farmers market and my finds and what I do with them.

Saturday’s there is this great little farmer’s market in our downtown area. At this market you can find everything from handmade soaps, live music, seasonal produce, locally made delicious ice cream, lobster bisque (kid you not!) baked goodies, grass fed meats , salsa, and my personal favorite fresh eggs, local honey (with other assorted bee made products) and goat cheese.

Some weekends hubby and I do what we call “farmer market meals on the fly”. We just go and buy whatever looks good and plan our weekend meals on the fly. This past weekend was little more adventurous . Usually we go to the farmer’s market together and then to a small local farm near the house to buy fish from the fish monger who is there. We both had to do lists and so went our separate ways. He was in charge of seafood and I was to pick out some goodies at the farmer’s market. Didn’t know what the other was going to get would find out when we got home.

Below in the pictures of the meals we made. We actually got an extra lunch we were not planning at all. Which was amazing as we cooked it together. Following the pictures is the recipe I use to make the Frittata.

Summer Squash & Goat Cheese Frittata
serves 6

8 eggs- beat in a bowl
1 yellow summer squash-sliced thinly
1 zucchini -sliced thinly
1/2 of one red onion- sliced thinly
2 roasted red peppers (from a jar)- chopped
2-3 ounces of goat cheese (to taste, I used a Chive goat cheese)
2 Tablespoons of olive oil
3 chives- chopped for garnish
salt and pepper for seasoning

1.Heat broiler.
2.Oil your oven proof pan well and heat up over med-high heat. Add oil and when hot add squashes and onion and cook till soft, about 5-7 mins. Season with salt and pepper.
3.Add beaten eggs , stir slightly , then leave alone and cook till just about set.
4. Turn off heat and top with roasted peppers and dot with goat cheese.
5. place under broiler till top sets and is cooked through (about 3-5 mins depending on depth of pan)
6. remove from oven, cool slightly, run a knife around outside edge of frittata and garnish with chopped green onions and serve.

To find a farmer’s market in your area check out Local Harvest.

Slainte!
Shelly

One response

Leave a Reply

