Mom are you sure we can eat that?

This past week we went to New Haven’s Downtown Farmer’s Market which is one of Cityseed’s five (yes 5) weekly farmer’s markets in and around New Haven. It takes place on Wednesdays, from 11am to 3pm. The market is filled with all kinds of yummy goodies from local farms as well as fresh baked goodies from The SoNo Baking Company. I am sucker for a baked goody.

This week was filled with all kinds of beautiful veggies. Corn, tomatoes, okra, onions, tomatoes, berries, green and yellow squashes, tomatoes, eggplants of all different kinds, fresh flowers, and did I mention tomatoes? I am a little bit of a tomato junkie. Just love when they are in season. We picked up some beets, tomatoes, and a purple kohlarbi. The kohlarbi was the one that got a couple of my guys asking “mom can we eat that? It looks like an alien!” It was our first time trying it. We had seen it before at the Milford Market but never bought it and then I looked into how it is suppose to taste (a mixture of cabbage and radish) I thought we would love it. Of course it was gone then. So I jumped at buying it this time.

It had been hot and I had been studying Raw diets that week in school, so I thought why not make a coleslaw type dish to use my new find. I saw a recipe someplace online but forgot so I just winged my own. So below the pictures you can find the recipe for what I did. I hope you will give it a try.

Carrot, beet, & kohlrabi salad

2 carrots grated
1lb of beets grated
1 sm-med kohlrabi- outer skin peeled off, grated
olive oil
balsamic vinegar
lemon juice
dill
oregano
salt and pepper

1. Wash and the grate the veggies. You don’t have to peel the skin on the beets or carrots. I just hit the nasty looking bits with a peeler quickly and grated everything with my food processor. Place in a bowl.

2. In a jar with a lid, put in about a 1/4 cup of oil, 1/8 cup of balsamic vinegar, juice of one lemon or a cap full from a bottle juice, about a tsp of oregano , 1/2 tsp of dill and salt and pepper to taste. Put lid on and shake well till mixed. Taste and adjust to your liking. I say this as I didn’t measure a thing. I just sort of adjusted the seasoning after trying it twice. You don’t have to be to serious in the kitchen. It should be fun.

3. Pour dressing over veggies and mix well and serve! You can all chill this for awhile (or a day) and really let the flavors mingle together. I had it in the fridge about 30 mins before serving.

Of course nobody said this tasted like alien. We tried the kohlrabi sliced raw and really enjoyed it. So go down to your local farmer’s market and try something new. Ask the people at the stand the best way to use their produce is. I know for a fact they will be happy to share some quick and easy recipes with you! If your in the New Haven area you can pick up this great cookbook offered by Cityseed called “New Haven Cooks” for more ideas.

Next up, I’ll share my Milford Market finds and my hubby’s amazing quick and easy recipe for a yummy tomatillo salsa.

Slainte!

Leave a Reply

