Raw corn salad & healthy eating expenses make news

Last week the news was a buzz with the fact that only rich people can afford to eat healthy. See article here. What a joke. Really? So that means eating unhealthy is for the poor as clearly they can afford higher medical bills? This just blows me away. But then we are a country of people who would rather spend money on electronics and other things verse quality food that will keep us going to enjoy our life. If you ever saw the movie Walle it has to make you wonder if we are headed in that direction.

Another article came out that made me smile of what you could buy with $20 or less that was healthy vs what you would get for that same amount junk food wise. You can read that here.

I went to the farmer’s market this Saturday and with just under $20 bought the following.

1 bunch of cilantro that I have and will use in my cooking this week as I keep it in water in a mason jar and take off what I need. 1 bunch of radishes that will be used for snacks and in salads, 6 ears of corn, 1 bunch of scallions and then a little over a pound of sweet Italian pork bulk sausage. The sausage and vegetables all came from farms that are organic but due to the paperwork and high costs to register as organic really can’t claim it legally. My total cost $16.95 Ok so I am not making a complete meal out of this trip but I could have if pushed to. I worked out my average cost per person per day in my home and mind you I have 3 kids at home , my hubby takes his lunch and breakfast with him on workdays is less than $10 a day for 3 meals a day, snacks and drinks. I am going off my highest priced shopping trips too so some weeks it is less. I know WIC and SNAP (formally food stamps) give folks much less but I also know from personal experience you can eat well on those programs as well. You have to stay away from processed foods that don’t give you any nutrition but empty calories.

Ok enough of that and let me share a no cook recipe I saw posted on Facebook recently. The recipe comes from the site 101 Cookbooks. Fresh corn is hitting the farmer’s markets like crazy right now so try this one out.

I adjusted the recipe for my family from the original. Below is my adjustment but click on the title for the original.

Fresh Summer Corn Salad

6 ears of corn
1 large shallot, minced
2 Tablespoons Cilantro , (minced)

Juice from 2 lemons
1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
2 tablespoons brown sugar
3 tablespoons sunflower oil

3/4 cup toasted pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
3/4 cup toasted sunflower seeds
1 teaspoon Mexican oregano
1 teaspoon red chili flakes (more or less to taste)
Good grinding of pepper to taste

1. After shucking the corn , take a knife and carefully cut corn from cob. Place in a bowl with shallots.

2. In a jar put the lemon juice, sunflower oil, brown sugar , sea salt. Put on lid and shake till mixed well. Pour over corn and shallots.

3. Add sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, oregano, chili flakes and fresh pepper to bowl and mix.

4. You can serve now or put in the fridge to chill and let the flavors mingle a little bit. Enjoy!

I served this with bluefish as a side. My whole family loved it. I think it would be great with some diced green chilies in it as well.

Till next time,
Slainte!

Leave a Reply

