Fermented foods and me

Ok I confess, I tend to get obsessed with certain foods or even ways to cook foods for a bit but I always learn something. I am just thankful my family puts up with me. For the most part I don’t go to extremes and when I am serving the family something new I always do try to pick recipes that I know will meet their tastes. I also put out plenty of hot sauce and other condiments for them to make it more their own.

Kombucha is one new thing I added in to my life this year. For anyone who doesn’t know what Kombucha is, it is a fermented tea. You can purchase it at most health food stores or you can brew your own. Something I hope to get into next year. It’s great plain but you can buy it with flavorings as well. My personal favorite is ginger added to it. There are health benefits to drinking Kombucha. For starters it contains active enzymes, amino acids, polyphenols. Drinking Kombucha is said to help everything from digestion issues, improve eyesight, improve energy, help with eczema as well as there are claims it is helpful in cancer recovery. I personally feel more mentally clear, have more energy and have much better digestion since drinking it. I often will have a glass after a meal I know will cause me issues and as a result not have issues. I have yet to put a pitcher of Kombucha out for the family to drink but just about everyone in my home has at least tried it. No wrinkled up noses yet but I think my kids are still looking at the little floaters oddly. If you want to know more about Kombucha you have to check out Kombucha Mama’s site. It’s my all time favorite.

Kimchi is the latest food I introduced to my family. Kimchi is a traditional Koren fermented dish that is made with vegetables and spices. It’s usually eaten as a side dish but is also used in Koren dishes such as Kimchi soup or stew. I am adding it to my list of things to make myself next year as well. As all fermented foods, it has it’s health benefits too. Most similar to Kombucha. I’ll just share this great article I found about Kimchi and it being one of the healthiest foods and let you read on about the great ways something like Kimchi can be medicine in food form.

So this past week I picked up a bottle of Mother-In-Law’s Kimchi at my local Whole Foods store.

Mother-In-Law Kimchi Daikon

I decided to try it in Spicy Beef and Kimchi Stew recipe found at Myrecipes.com. I had picked up the Daikon Radish Kimchi and I tell you it was a great hit. The stew meat came out melt in your mouth tender and the kimchi was spicy but oh so good. I really was sad there wasn’t more and can see how this can be played around with in my kitchen to try in other ways to enjoy. My guys enjoyed it but then they love spicy foods.

Spicy Beef and Kimchi Stew

So hopefully if you have been wanting to try these foods but haven’t you’ll give them a chance and see if you feel any changes in your health or maybe they will just be delicious new things to enjoy.

Until next time,
Blessings!
Shelly

I apologize if your reading this and one photo is upside down. I’ve been working on fixing it. For some odd reason no matter what I do this picture is just posting upside down. I wanted to show you an up close picture of the Kimchi out of the jar and all it’s spicy goodness.

Leave a Reply

