Cauliflower-Bacon Gratin (FFWD)

Ok so I skipped last week’s dish of Creme Brulee. My excuses are as follows, it was Christmas, I don’t have all the cute little dishes and my dog at my homework. It’s on the list of things to make up for this cooking group. Believe me I’ve wanted to make this before I started cooking with this group a year ago.

This week the group is cooking up Cauliflower-Bacon Gratin.

I choose to do the “Bonne Idee” on the side of the page and did this with leftover Christmas ham. Hey it’s a new way to use leftovers in my mind. I think bacon would have been fabulous and I am sure the guys in my home would have loved me to have even cooked this with both bacon and ham but well a plate of hot food on a cold rainy windy night, I didn’t hear much complaining. Actually saw them going back for seconds.

Happy to report this recipe’s ingredient list didn’t feel like I was on Chopped.

Cauliflower, ham, cream, eggs, milk, salt, cheese, and nutmeg. How could you go wrong?

Did I mention this had gruyere cheese? One of my all time favorites? I might try in the future to make this dairy free since I do have a sensitivity to dairy but a nice treat like this once in a while is comfort food to my soul.

This dish really took no time at all. Boil some cauliflower, mix up the sauce and pop in the oven.

In the oven it goes

Then a quick trip under the broiler to get it all crispy and golden.

This would make a great side like Dorie suggests. My first thought would be with a steak if your using the bacon. I served this as a main with a salad and sliced quinoa and flaxseed bread. Guys said it would make a good breakfast dish too.

Only thing I might do differently is next time I think I will try taking the sauce ingredients and cooking them into a Bechamel sauce instead of just mixing and pouring over cold. I just have a feeling it will make for a creamy and gooey dish. But this was really good.

Come check out what others are cooking and maybe join in the fun over at French Fridays with Dorie.

Till next time,
Blessings!
Shelly

8 responses

  1. Cauliflower & ham & cheese is a concept that I can wrap my mind around – unlike sticking potato chips in eggs…

    Looks great – and it sounds like this was a hit in your house.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

