Slowing Down-The Kombucha Diaries (pt2)

It’s been 9 days, as of writing this, since I started my first batch of Kombucha. So far it looks like it is going well. It smells like Kombucha and is looking like it. If you look closely at the pictures below you will a second SCOBY is forming too.

Brewing some KT

Looking down at the new scoby forming

I decided this first patch is going to be a ginger lime flavor. I love GT’s Gingerade but I also love a ginger tisane I make that has lime in it so I am going that route this time. I have fresh ginger and limes waiting for the big taste that happens tomorrow to decide if I bottle or not. Living in New England and keeping our home cooler than most would, my buch has been fermenting in the warmest room in our house at 70 degrees so it might take just a tad longer than I hope. We will see. I am in no real hurry.

I started some other fermented foods in my kitchen. I have a quart of ginger carrots that I moved to cold storage this week and can’t wait to try. Also, with the help of my husband, put two quarts of kimchi to ferment today. The recipe was found in Nourishing Traditions but I admit I adjusted a few things. A little more ginger and more red pepper flakes because we like things spicy.

Mashing some carrots and ginger

ready to ferment for 3 days

The house smelled lovely as my husband pounded the mixture together to release the juices. We couldn’t help but nibble on it. It will be hard to not eat it before it’s done to be honest. I love kimchi.

gathering my ingredients...where's my chili pepper flakes?

My hubby mashing everything together. Wish you could smell this.

Two quarts ready to ferment. Yum!

It’s funny I have the foods sitting around fermenting and I am waiting to eat them but can’t yet. It’s another lesson in patience for me. Another thing pulling me back to a slower pace as things get busy around me and call me to get caught up in the crazy busy energy. It’s especially fitting with it being winter, a time to be slower, reflect and go inward. A time to get back into the rhythm of my life and figure out what is important and what isn’t. To plan what I will nurture this spring and what I will let go.

Food is medicine, as Hippocrates said, but sometimes it’s the method that heals us or teaches us the most.

Till next time, I hope your finding your rest and ways to slow down this winter,
Blessings & love,
Shelly

Leave a Reply

