We Got The Beet!

Here’s a tip if you have teens, don’t play 80’s music and sing the following song while cooking the following recipe. It’s way uncool. Then why are 80’s styles popping up every where? I thought my kids were a bit cooler. I tried.

I love beets. I even did as a kid. I don’t know, there is something really magical and pretty about them. They are like the rubies of the vegetable world. When I was kid though I never actually saw a beet. No clue what one looked liked when they grew or were pulled from the ground, as the ones I saw usually came out of a can. Shiny dark red slivers.

If that’s the beet you know, here’s what they look like unwashed and waiting to made into something fabulous.

Pickled beets are an idea. These are locally made. Yum!

But this week I made beet chips. Thought it would be a cool and different snack for the family. No to mention beets they are good for the blood (look their red they scream it) and help with detoxing and spring is a good time to clean out stuff from the body like I mentioned in a previous post.

If your going to do the following recipe I have two recommendations. If you have a Cusinart use it. Don’t slice these suckers as your hands will be stained after. If you make this recipe or eat beets in general and experience your urine turning red, it’s just beeturia. It happens to 10-15% of people. While it is supposedly harmless it could mean you have iron issues but I suggest taking that up with your doctor if your worried.

Eat these up fast. They don’t seem to hold their crunch more than 24 hrs. They got sort of chewy and odd after that. Which was really sad. They did taste delish in the hummus recipe I shared in my last post.

Beet Chips

4 medium beets
2 -3 tblsps of olive oil
celtic sea salt to taste

*preheat oven to 400 degrees

Wash and scrub the beets. If they are organic go ahead and slice, if not you don’t want the pesticides so peel off the skins and then slice. Like I mentioned above I ran my beets through my cuisinart with the slicing blade. If you have a mandolin that would work great too.

Place sliced beets in a bowl, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle on salt and mix to make sure all the beets are coated in oil. Depending on the size of the beets you were able to get will depend on how much oil you use.

Lay the beets out on a cookie sheet and bake in the oven for 45 mins to 1 hour. Flip about half way through and make sure to check them often as they can burn easily.

Cool on a rack and enjoy!

Wnat some more flavor? Try adding in some Miso or Tahini or something spicy like chili powder or hot paprika to the bowl with the oil, mix and bake as usual.

These were a hit fresh out of the oven in my home.

Untill next time!
Shelly

Leave a Reply

