Curried Chicken, Peppers & Peas En Papillote

Sounds fancy doesn’t it? This recipe comes from Dori Greenspan’s “Around My French Table”. I’ve been out of sync with online cooking club “French Fridays With Dori” for a while, but last week while planning my menu the book screamed at me from the shelf. I actually opened it right to this recipe, read it and thought to myself it needed to be cooked.

Dori says it’s easy. She’s so right. Maybe 30 mins tops. That’s with the prep time. She says even though it is easy it could be used for guests. I am thinking she is very right. I would most likely cook it in parchment paper for guests to sort of wow them. I would even dare say this is fast food done healthy. Yes you can cook a whole food meal quickly.

Don’t be afraid to make this with chicken thighs which can help on the budget. I think you could also change-up the veggies easily to suit the season. I love to change dishes and make them new with the seasons.

Curried Chicken, Peppers & Peas En Papillote

Serves 4

1 lb. skinless, boneless chicken breast
12 thin slices of red onion, halved
1/2 red bell pepper, cored, seeded and diced
1 cup peas (fresh or frozen)
4 tsp olive oil
1 tsp curry powder
salt and ground pepper

1. Center rack in oven and preheat the oven to 400 degree. Cut four 12-inch squares of nonstick aluminum foil. Have a baking sheet at hand.
2. Cut chicken into long strips and then cut strips crosswise in half. Put chicken and all other ingredients in a bowl, seasoning with salt and pepper, and stir until curry powder has evenly colored chicken and vegetables. Spoon an equal amount of mix into center or each piece of foil. Draw up edges of foil and seal packets well, but don’t crimp foil very close to chicken – you want to leave room around ingredients so they can steam.
3. Bake the papillotes for 17 to 20 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked through – carefully open a packet and cut into a piece of chicken to test.
4. Serve the packets immediately, bringing them to the table straight from the oven or opening them in the kitchen and arranging the chicken and vegetables on individual plates.

I increased the amount of curry powder because, as I have said before, my family loves spice. I served this with jasmine rice but you could serve with salad or naan bread.

Hope you’ll give this a try in your meal rotation. It’s really so simple and good that you’ll want to make it more often.

Till next time,
Shelly

Leave a Reply

