Cooking block, slight rant about adult kids & cookbooks from my shelf

If a writer can’t come up with new things to write and it’s called “writer’s block”, what do you call when someone who loves to cook sits down to plan out her menu and draws a blank? Cooking block? I think we need to come up with something more creative. Just I can’t at the moment. My energy is else where being creative in another part of my life. Put your suggestions in the comments below. I’d love to hear them.

Of course when I ask my family for help I get blank stares and the “uh…uh” answer. Minus my husband who actually helps by telling me what he would like to have. He might just say “seafood” but that is enough to get me thinking. I’d be eating udon noodles daily and humus wraps and telling the kids to deal if it wasn’t for him.

Speaking of the kids, a funny lot they are. I have mostly adult kids now. Four out of five to be exact. It’s funny how I try to include them in meal planning but they offer no suggestions but will be sure to tell you later that they really are not into what your cooking at the moment (like in as your cooking) and will be eating else where. So you scale back thinking these adult kids wont be eating at home and they show up and get all bent out of shape because your cooking for 3 not 5, 6 or 7. I’ve had some interesting conversations with a couple of my adult kids who seem upset I am not cooking the same way I did even a year ago but they’ve checked out, so to speak, and have gotten their own life. Yay! But, so have mom and dad guys. *GASP* The horrors.

I know we were suppose to get old and be afraid to leave the house. Ha! I got news kiddos, start showing up for meals when you want them as eventually these two crazy old people are going to pick up where they left off 24 years ago and be wild again. Catch us while you can. We might sell the house and spend your inheritance traveling the world! Or at least the lower 48 with no mailing address what so ever. Maybe we will live on a boat and just sail in and out of ports. Your father catching what we need to eat. Actually that sounds rather nice to me.

So on the off-chance they are reading this and want to cook those meals you so enjoyed. Here’s a few of the cookbooks I used to cook some of your favorite meals.

That Georgia Pot Roast you all loved? It came from Damon Lee Fowlers book “New Southern Kitchen” I adjusted it but you can figure that out. Thanksgiving dinner came from there as well as my sweet potato pie. You might find a few other things too.

My fried chicken? Yeah the one we use to do the buttermilk chicken dance to. That was so much fun. That one came from Marvin Woods book “Low Country Cooking” Read that one and you will see other recipes I cooked but adjusted as well.

While I made up my Shepard’s Pie recipe from scratch you can most likely find one in The Irish Pub cookbook.

You’ll need to locate a copy of The Frugal Gourmet on Immigrant Ancestors as well. Cinco De Mayo tacos came from there. Just use a crockpot instead of heating up the house with the oven.Oh and the recipe is under Puerto Rico, not Mexico.

I’ll have to share more books from my shelf at another time. Though, it got me thinking that my first cookbook was a paperback of The Fannie Farmer Cookbook.
I had to buy a new copy when we moved across country as mine went missing. My current copy is 18+ years old and falling apart and hidden away.

Well that’s it for this time. My menu is done, the grocery list written up. I am off to do the shopping. Fourth of July will find us eating cold fried chicken. Yum. But first swordfish and then mussels. Oh yes. All this typing and I got my inspiration back.

Hope your 4th of July is wonderful and filled with lots of laughter and joy.
Shelly

Leave a Reply

