Quick, easy, and no yelling in the kitchen Gordon Ramsay recipe.

Gordon Ramsay, you either love him or hate him. I don’t think there is a gray area for it. It’s how it works with everyone I know, they love him or they just can’t stand him.

I am in the love him camp. I could most likely write a whole blog post on how much I adore him and how I at one point in my life wanted to be on Masterchef and was sure to be on the couch watching ever single one of his shows from the BBC channel to Fox shows to watch what he did, what he expected of folks. I was maybe, slightly obsessed. Not in the “he’s so cute” sort of way but in how he did things. What I got from him, and I am thankful for, is his love for fresh ingredients and using whole foods. I heard him say it over and over again. On the F Word I heard him talk about how he use to be a fat chef , how he got healthy and he inspired me along with a few other chef who lost weight simply by cooking really delish foods. For that, Gordon Ramsay, I thank you from the bottom of my heart that is much healthier now. My goal to be on Masterchef changed , the cutting my finger tip off in 2010 helped a little with that. I even now still not as fast with a knife as I use to be. I really don’t care as to be honest, I am more mindful with my cooking which goes with the practice of mindful eating.

It’s funny people always comment on how Chef Ramsay yells all the time. He does but I see why. He has expectations and wants people to be the best they can be. I am not even so sure it is about the food as much as he thinks it is. He wants people to just do their best which in turns makes them feel their best. I could be wrong but it’s what I pick up. He is a rather soft teddy bear when people are doing their best and he loves them up.

So, I’ve been on this roll the past few weeks of sharing some of the cookbook that are my favorite that are in my kitchen. This week, as I am sure you guessed, it’s a Chef Ramsay book. I currently own three of his books, four if you count the one I tend to check out all the time at the library that I really just need to buy. Sticking with the same theme I had with fast, quick food I thought I’d share from Ramsay’s “Gordon Ramsay Makes It Easy” cookbook. I have the paperback version that the cover slid off after three uses but it came with a great little DVD for those who like to watch him make some of the recipes in the book as well. The recipes are all simple though some call for ingredients I can’t seem to find around me. Like monkfish, for example. I really need to just look up a subsitute and try the darn recipe but I am lover of seafood and would like to try monkfish just to see what it tastes like. I am that kind of person though. I spent to many years in the play it safe zone. Done with that.

While the following recipe does require you to marinate the chicken for at least two hours, I don’t think if you did it the night before and left it till you got home from work or something it would be a bad thing. Might even be better. Next time I am going to add in a little chili oil to my marinade but my family likes things a little spicer. This was a hit in our home and made delish leftovers for lunch the next day.

I also used a middle eastern wrap for this as I was looking for something different than a tortilla. Worked out great and held together a lot better.

Tortilla Wrap with Chicken and Avocado
Serve 4
3-4 boneless chicken breasts
3 tbsp olive oil
juice of 1 lime
1 tsp gorund cumin
1 tsp corriander
1 onion, roughly chopped
1 red bellpepper, seeded and roughly chopped
6 vine-ripped tomatoes, cut into quarters
8 tortillas or wraps
2 Haas avocados
1/2 cup strained plain yogurt

What you do:

Cut the chicken into thin strips. Combine the olive oil, lime juic e, spices in a bowl. Add the chicken, toss to mix, and let marinate for 2 hours. Heat the ovent 400 degrees.

Heat a heavy skillet untill very hot. Add the chicken in it’s marinade, with the onion, red bell pepper and half the tomatoes. Cook for 4 to 5 mins.

Wrap the torillas in foil and warm in the oven for 5 mins. Add the rest of the tomates to the skillet and cook for another 2 mins. Sprinkle the chopped cilantro over top.

Halve , peel and thinkly slice the avocados, discarding the pits. Divide the chicken mictures between the warm tortillas, add a few avocado slices and dollop of yogurt to each one, then roll up. Serve two wraps per person.

This was great with a nice side salad.

Enjoy!

One response

Leave a Reply

