Meatless Monday: Who Stole the Fried Chicken!

I used to make a big Sunday meal of fried chicken, mac n’cheese, greens and baked beans. I don’t really remember how it happened to start, if it was a budget thing or just maybe I forgot to defrost and do my buttermilk soak of fried chicken but whatever the case the first night I served the above menu sans the chicken, my kids asked, “who stole the fried chicken?” So the name for this menu stuck.

Who stole the fried chicken?

It became a meatless monday favorite but my dairy issue came out last year and I stopped making it. I tried once or twice and made myself goat cheese mac n’ cheese but it was never the same.

I’ve been craving mac n’cheese. So instead of just caving, eating it and suffering later and asking myself why I just did that, I got creative and took my recipe I use for the family and tweeked it and made my own dairy free version.

I have to say it was creamy and good. I plan on baking it next time with a nice crumb topping and see how it does.

Dairy Free Mac n’Cheese.
2 cups of cooked elbow macaroni
1 1/2 cup of milk substitute of your choice, warmed (Soy, almond, rice etc)
2 Tbls of ghee (this is lactose and casein free)
2 Tbls of flour
Salt & pepper to taste
Cayenne pepper to taste
1- 2 cups of an alternative cheese. I used a jack and cheddar soy shredded soy cheese from Trader Joe’s

In sauce pan melt the ghee then add the flour and make a roux. Cook for a 1 min till brown. Add the warmed milk substitute slowly, whisking as you add. Whisk and warm up and then add cheese. Add about a 1/2 cup of a time and whisk untill cheese is melted. Add cheese till you get the consistency you like. Put any extra cheese off to the side. Add salt, pepper and cayenne pepper, stir. Add your cheese sauce to the cooked macaroni and stir to mix. Sprinkle any extra cheese on top and enjoy!

Till next time!
Blessings and love,
Shelly

Leave a Reply

