Don’t you dare take my chocolate away! -Friday Favorite

Hello, my name is Shelly and I am choco-holic. I don’t plan to quit eating it ever. I managed to lose 25+ pounds not giving up chocolate so don’t start on its fattening or any of those other myths.  Touch my chocolate and I’ll sick my cat, Miss Purresly on you, if I have not already bitten your fingers off.
Ok I think we have an understanding I want to make it a little bit more clear. I am not a junk chocolate lover. Hand me a snickers bar and I am going to walk away. Hershey’s chocolate, no thanks love.  I don’t eat the typical milk chocolate or as I all it “crap” chocolate out there. Maybe I am more of a “chocolate snob” than a choco-holic.  You know I could handle chocolate snob better than the food snob some folks have called me. I would tend to agree. I am a strictly dark as I can get it dark chocolate sort of girl. The more bitter the better.

I do eat things like truffles and such but I am a little picky about where they come form. I admit it. My husband spoiled me with Neuhaus Belgian chocolate one year and I have yet to find something to top that.  It’s my favorite treat. The dark chocolate is  not nearly as bitter as I like  but it’s ssooo good.

When I do crave something a little “dirty” and not so snobby I love a Chuao Firecracker chocolate bar. Just imagine the wacky combination of dark chocolate, salt, chipolte and to make it really crazy, popping candy (aka poprocks) to explode in your mouth.  Not a bar you’d sit down with and open up and watch tv and eat the whole thing. When we do get one my husband and I share one over the course of many nights together. Usually while watching a Quentin Tarantino movie.

My all time favorite chocolate is Noi Sirius Icelandic extra bitter 70% dark chocolate. If you click on the link, the one I mentioned is a “chocolate block”. It’s perfect to use in baking brownies , cakes or use in the adult hot chocolate recipe I am going to share below. Leave the alcohol out for the kids or those who don’t drink.  I have only seen this chocolate at my local Whole Foods. The Noi Sirius website confirms they only sell in the US at Whole Foods and E & B’s Natural Way.

The company has been around since 1920. I love the simple design of the wrapper and if your thinking , wait Shelly, I can’t spend and arm and leg on some fancy chocolate, this is cheap. It was one of the reasons I got on my tip toes and took a bar down from the top shelf at my local Whole Foods. I was getting more chocolate for my money.

The flavor is not as bitter as one would think. It is bitter if you’re a 3 musketeers sort of person and eating dark chocolate can be an acquired taste. But I honestly love how this melts in my mouth, how the taste is warmingly (real word?) bitter like espresso. Nice thing is it lingers on your mouth. It’s perfect with a cup of tea (Chai and Robioos being my favs with it), a beer, a class of red wine or alone.

The wrapper claims it has five servings per container. When you unwrap the bar your going to find 2 thick bars stamped into little squares.  My husband and I are only able to eat 4 squares at a time. So we are getting more than five servings. I tend to take one square, pop it in my mouth and allow it melt slowly, savoring every little bit of it. So four little squares are enjoyed over a good amount of time.

We all know that dark chocolate has health benefits but I wont bore you with that. Check out this site for the whole scoop.

A great way to enjoy chocolate on a cold night? Hot chocolate! My favorite all time recipe is by Nagella Lawson. I personally think you can leave the sugar out it but I am leaving it the way she has it written up. Leave out the rum if you’re not wanting alcohol. It really wont affect the taste.

Nigella Lawson’s Adult Hot Chocolate

Serves 2

  • 2 cups milk
  • 3 1/2 ounces best-quality chocolate, bittersweet or semisweet
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons dark rum, or to taste

Put the milk into a saucepan and break the  chocolate into pieces and add to the milk along with a cinnamon stick, honey, and sugar. Heat gently until the chocolate is melted.

Add the vanilla and mix with a small hand whisk; still whisking, add a spoonful of the rum first and taste to see if you want more (no point pouring in all at once as it’s too late to do anything about it if it’s too strong for you) and add more sugar if you want it sweeter. Take out the cinnamon stick and pour into 2 small cups or cappuccino cups.

Enjoy in front of a fire or snuggled up with someone you love, because chocolate is better when shared.

Untill next time,

Blessings,

Shelly

Leave a Reply

