Call it Soup or Stew it’s still warms the heart

Years ago I remember my Aunt Dot sharing recipes with me and memories of her mother, my grandmother, cooking in the kitchen. Nobody has or ever will cook the way my Grandmother did. When I visited with my Uncle down in SC at my son’s graduation from boot camp, we sat in a hotel room sharing stories and I listened to my cousin and Uncle talk about how good my Grandma cooked.

Aunt Dot, shared how on Monday, laundry day, my grandmother would alway put on a pot of white bean soup. She would add whatever vegetables she had to pot. She said that soup was easy to cook that day as it was laundry and cleaning day. Didn’t have to watch it much. Just let is simmer.

Soups on!

That was several years back but I love my Grandma so much and admire so much about her that I decided to change my routine just a little to match her routine. It made me somehow feel closer to her after she passed. Now when  the weather is changing and I am looking or a meal to fit that meatless Monday slot, white bean soup seems perfect. My Aunt passed away as well and I admit, I imagine in my mind her playing around my Grandmother, helping her fix the soup and smiling as she ate it.

Food sometimes warms the heart more than it does the stomach.

The following recipe could be called a soup or a stew. Just depends on how you look at it. So put out the forks and the spoons for your table and serve with plenty of warm whole grain bread.

White Bean & Kale Soup

serves 4

ingredients:

3 zucchini, sliced

1 bunch of kale, torn into bite size pieces

2 cans of organic white beans

2 cans of no salt organic diced tomatoes

2 cups of vegetable broth

2 tsps of smoked paprika

salt & pepper to taste

In a large pot or dutch oven, place your broth, zucchini, beans, tomatoes, paprika and broth. Bring to a boil over med-high heat. Cook untill the zucchini are tender but not mushy.

Add in your kale and cook till the kale wilts. Taste and then season with salt and pepper.

Serve and enjoy.

Untill next time,

Blessings and love,

Shelly

One response

  1. Pingback: Prosciutto, Broccoli Pasta- a pasta change up | From Shelly's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

