Hurricane Evacuation Dinner

So I had a different recipe to share but it will hopefully get posted next week. It’s Sunday night, and I am sitting in a hotel room after a mandatory evacuation from our  home. Life happens and this month it has happened in extra helpings.

I am little freaked as I have a beautiful lamb roast and pork roast in my chest freezer and not sure if we are going to have electricity or not. We packed the freezer tight as we could and put extra ice on it and cranked it to a chillier temp in hopes to hold stuff. The bonus is unlike last year when Irene hit, there is no summer heat. We lost so much fish that my husband caught last year it was sad. We kept looking for ice but after day 5 there was no ice to be found anywhere around.  We survived and cooked on our gas grill. Our kitchen is all-electric so a week plus without power was a fun challenge. I admit I can cook a three course meal on a campfire in my cast iron. One reason I think anyone who can cook needs cast iron. You can cook anywhere with it. My neighbor thought I was nuts out there brewing coffee every morning on the grill.  I would have started a fire in the fire pit but we were short on wood.

So this year I cooked a similar meal that I cooked last year before we packed up kids, house and pets and left our beach neighborhood.  It travels well and can be eaten hot or cold. It’s cheap to make so if you find yourself looking for a meal on the fly all you need is boiling water honestly. You will get good protein from the Quinoa and if you use canned corn you don’t need much from a fridge if anything.

Made it safe to our hotel room and ready to plate up on Monday when we wont be able to leave the hotel room for food. I’ll try to add a “beauty” shop if we have electricity after we eat this.

Red Quinoa Spanish Salad.

1 cup of red quinoa

2 cups of veggies broth

1/2 red onion chopped

2 cups of corn (canned is great but if frozen defrost)

cherry tomatoes, halved

1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed

cilantro, chopped (optional you could use the dried version but not as much flavor)

salt and pepper to taste

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp coriander

1/4 tsp chili powder (optional but adds heat)

Avocado, sliced for garnish

Cook the quinoa in the broth. Mean while prep your tomatoes and onions. Place cut veggies in  a bowl and add corn and beans and spices and mix. When Quinoa is ready mix with tomato and bean mixture. Serve warm or allow to cool and put in fridge or Tupperware and take with you if you’re having to hit the road. Make/buy  a cilantro dressing to pour on top and or serve with corn tortilla chips for some extra crunch!

If you bring a cat to a hotel room with the dog she just mildly can stand, she’s going to get you back by putting her toy mouse in the only bed and taking over it. I am not sure if I have introduced Miss Purresly, our kitty (cat really she’s 5 yrs old) we rescued this past June. She’s not fond of the kitchen yet. She’s more of a bed stealer. If you have popcorn or doritos your her best friend. Fish? Forget about it. She’s an odd one but we adore her.

Miss Purresly and her toy mouse “Puck”

So untill next time, I hope all of you who are/were in the path of Hurricane Sandy are all safe and with the people who love and support you the most.   Here’s to hoping my neighborhood is  spared and not on the news again.

Love and blesssings!

Shelly, family and critters.

Leave a Reply

