How to Grill Pancakes

It’s Monday afternoon and the shouts and cheers just erupted in our little beach neighborhood as the United Illuminating trucks came in and turned out power back on. Seven days with no electricity. The temps got down into the low 30’s and yet my brave husband got up each morning and got the kettle going on the grill for us. Stud muffin that he is. He did have fun jumping back into the bed with cold feet and hands to help wake me up more.

We survived the entire thing with only eating out once. That was because we had errands to run and I think my husband saw I needed a cup of soup the way a fish needs water.

I think I mentioned before that our kitchen is all-electric so it’s not like you can cook inside. The generator we have is too small to run the stove so it was the grill and my husband’s smoker that we used to cook on. One way to make sure you can do this is to have a good supply of oven safe stainless steel pots or better yet, cast iron. I have a set of cast iron skillets I picked up at a Kmart over 20 years ago when I first moved to Connecticut and it was all we could afford. I later picked up a dutch oven on clearance a that rounds out all I need to cook on an open flame in my backyard or out on a camping trip.

Last year , when Irene hit us , I cooked on our grill but it was summer and salads and low cook meals were the key. I even cooked pancakes one morning in my large skillet on the grill. But this time, my husband got the idea to see if we could use cookie sheets to cook on. “Oohh how fun. Let’s try” as we were in Trader Joe’s picking up supplies for that night’s dinner and breakfast the next morning.

I am happy to say yes you can cook pancakes on a cookies sheet. He just melted a little butter on them and there you go. He did the same with the sausage and then when he was done turned the heat off under the one cookie sheet and we used it to keep the food warm while we finished up cooking the pancakes. This also works for potato cakes which we had with our eggs and sausage this morning.

We used a pumpkin pancake mix we had on hand that we got at Trader Joes’s for our grilled pancakes . But if you’re looking for a homemade pancake mix you can keep on hand here’s the one I use and store in a glass jar.

Pancake Mix

3 cups of organic white wheat flour

3 cups of organic wheat flour or buckwheat flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 tablespoon of salt (sea or kosher)

2 tablespoons of sugar

1 tablespoon of cinnamon

Place all of the ingredients in a large jar or container that will seal well. I mix all the ingredients together with a whisk. Then put the lid on.

To make a batch you will need the following:

2 eggs

2 cups of milk or a non dairy milk , my family loves coconut milk in pancakes but almond milk is really good too.

4 tablespoons of butter, melted

2 cups of your pancake mix

*frozen fruit or chopped nuts to mix it up a little*

Heat your griddle or pan and then mix all your ingredients together. Don’t worry if it’s a little lumpy.  Lightly butter your pan and ladle on your pancakes and cook till you see bubbles on the edges, then flip.

Serve with honey, real maple syrup or maybe a fruit butter and lots of hot tea or coffee!

Enjoy!

Untill next time,

Love and blessings!

Leave a Reply

