Simple Burritos/Enchiladas

My following recipe was inspired years ago by the book “Good Food Today, For Healthy Kids Tomorrow“, by Dr. Jay Gordon. I had bought the book when my now 18 yr old son, was little and was getting sick all the time and seemed to have some food sensitivities/allergies. Some of the recipes the allergies wanted us to cook  didn’t go over well with my family and I think the older kids started to not like this little brother for a bit because everything was changing due to his health issues. So when we found things we all liked it was amazing.

I am not sure how it came about but we changed the black bean burritos recipe into “Kali’s Black Enchiladas”. I know it was one of the kids who came up with the name and well when you got 5 kids and they are young and the all agree something it tends to stick. So has this recipe now that 4 of my 5 are adults. Wow the time goes by fast.

The original recipe was written for the vegan family in mind. Nobody in my house likes soy cheese and when I make these I tend to make a smaller tray for me with no cheese in them for me. When they come out I sprinkle my serving with nutritional yeast.  If you don’t want to make these meatless I suggest cutting the beans by half and you have a great way to cut down on how much meat you could use , thus saving on the budget.  Or add all the beans and the meat you want and make extra, wrap and freeze for a quick-lunch or dinner another night. They freeze really well. I’ve done these with chicken and  ground beef but I was thinking the other night that maybe shrimp might be good. It’s on the idea list to try.  My point is play around with this. Make it yours.

Want enchiladas? Just add your favorite homemade enchilada sauce, top with cheese and sliced olives and bake @ 350 for 20-35 mins.  Make a tray in advance and freeze too.

Why not add some leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and make turkey burritos or enchiladas?

Enchiladas with Nutritional Yeast instead of cheese

Black Bean Burritos

Serves 4+

1 package of whole wheat or sprouted tortillas

1 tbsp of olive oil

2 cans of black beans (drained and rinsed)

1 onion, diced

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2 c tomato sauce

2 tsp cumin

3 tsp coriander

1/4 to 1/2 tsp chili powder

1 small can of diced green chilis

hot sauce of your choice

Cheese or cheese substitute (optional)

What to do:

1. Heat a large skillet and add oil, cook the onion untill soft, add garlic and cook till fragrant.

2. Add black beans, tomato sauce, spices and chilis to pan. Add your meat if you’re using and cook throughly at this point and cook throughly. Other wise heat bean mixture throughly. Remove from heat.

3. Lay a tortilla out on a cutting board, put about 1/4 cup of bean mixture, hot sauce, cheese, and any other toppings you would like, and roll up.

4. You can enjoy at this point or place burritos in a baking dish that has a little enchilada sauce spread on the bottom and then top with more enchilada sauce, cheese and sliced olives.

Serve with spanish rice or a fresh salad.

Untill next time,

Blessings & Love!

Shelly

Leave a Reply

