Blooming spices for a crockpot curry

As soon as the weather gets chilly I crave curry of any kind. Actually Indian food of any kind. From Chai & Tulsi Teas to Naan bread it’s the warming spices that keep me warm from the inside out.

Thing is, as I have mentioned before, my time in the kitchen has been limited. I will not cave and buy premade curries as I know they taste nothing like a the real thing. I just can’t get myself to do it. I had a strong craving for a curry this week and decided to see if I could make one in the crockpot for a Meatless Monday option. This way I could come home and have a warm dinner waiting for me.

I am happy to report it worked like a charm and even a day or two later the curry just got better. As curries often do. It makes for a great breakfast with a fried egg on top too.

Don’t skip blooming the spices. Blooming spices is where you cook the spices in oil. This releases the flavor more and even changes it a little. You could skip it but it wont have that Indian food taste that can’t be explained beyond yummy and warming by me.

Garam masala is another thing you don’t really want to skip out on. It is being carried in most stores these days or can be found in an Indian grocery store. These seem to be popping up every where to my joy.
photo 1

I serve this with basmati rice. I made my rice in advance. This way, when my family was ready to eat, all they needed to do was warm up some rice, spoon on some curry and grab a piece of naan bread and enjoy their dinner. When I got home there was warm curry waiting for me, which was heaven-sent the night I enjoyed it.

 

 

Vegetable Crockpot Curry

serves 6

    • 2 tbsp coconut oil
    • 1 onion, diced
    • 2 cloves garlic, minced
    • 1 inch ginger, peeled and grated
    • 3 sweet potatoes cut into 1 inch chunks
    • 1/2 tsp garam masala
    • 1 tsp cumin
    • 1 tsp coriander
    • 1 tsp turmeric
    • 1 tsp curry
    • 1 tsp salt
    • 2 15 oz. cans chickpeas
    • 1 cups water
    • 1 can of coconut milk
    • 9 oz bag of peas
    • 12 oz diced tomatoes
      1. In skillet cook onions, ginger , untill onions are soft. Add spices and cook (bloom) untill fragrant. Place in crockpot.
      2. Place remaining ingredients into crockpot. Stir,cook for 5 hours on low.
      3. Serve with basmati rice and/or naan bread

      You could play around with this and add say spinach instead of peas or whatever vegetable makes you happy. Add your own meat or seitan if you don’t want a vegetarian curry.

Leave a Reply

