Salmon with potatoes and capers

On my bucket list is to go to Alaska and go salmon fishing. I’ve talked to and heard so many fun stories about going to Alaska I really hope to go. I can say we have funded our kids orthodontist’s trips to go.  So far four of our five kids have had braces.  In the orthodontist office there are lovely pictures on the  wall of the doctors private offices and I’ve often heard a few stories of the trips over the past 18 years of taking my kids there.  I don’t mind hearing them at all because , first off, they (a father and son team) are the two nicest guys on the planet and I wish I was blood related to them to call them family, and two the stories are filled with rich details and lots of laughter.

I love salmon. Everyone knows the health benefits with the omega 3’s and all but the fact that if you buy wild caught salmon you are buying a very low contaminated fish is another great advantage.  Buying fresh is great if you can but there is nothing wrong with frozen. I buy fresh when there is a sale but I have found that it is frozen anyhow before it arrives. Most of the time, from what I recently learned,  and noticed watching many fishing shows with my husband, the fish ( and shrimp for that matter) are frozen on the boat when they are caught. Then some times, they are butchered and flash frozen. How else does Alaskan Salmon get from the water to a table in Connecticut without going bad?  Ponder that a bit.

The salmon I used in the following easy, quick and delicious dish came from Trader Joe’s and was frozen. Still had the skin on and was perfect and cost  half of what we were paying at Whole Foods. Not slamming Whole Foods just lately have been really, really questioning the prices in that store. I’ll rant about that another time.

The recipe is inspired from the book “5 Ingredient Favorites” by Rachel Lane. I loved the concept but wasn’t crazy about how many steps there were to cook this dish that seemed unnecessary to me and I wanted to add something else to it. So I changed up the recipe on the fly one night after work.

photo 2

Broiled Salmon with Potatoes and Capers

Serves 4

  • 2 lbs of new potatoes, cut into quarters
  • olive oil (about 1/4 cup)
  • fresh thyme sprigs, about 6 or you can use dried
  • 1 tsp of dried dill
  • 24 ounces of salmon (or 4 pieces/1 piece per person)
  • 1 jar of capers, rinsed
  • 2 tablespoons of butter

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Place your cut potatoes into a baking dish and add about 1/4 cup of olive oil to the potatoes and mix to coat the potatoes evenly. Mix the thyme in with the potatoes as well.  Bake in your oven for 30 mins.

When the potatoes are done place to the side and keep warm. Turn your oven to broil. Place your salmon pieces , skin side down on a foil lined cookie sheet or broiler pan  and sprinkle with dill. Broil for about 10- 15 mins depending on the thickness.

While salmon is broiling, melt your butter in small pan and add capers and cook untill warm.

To serve, place potatoes on plate, spoon some of the butter and capers on to the potatoes and top with salmon.

Enjoy!

One response

  1. Hello Shelly,
    I saw your article about how to deal with insomnia naturally. My husband has struggled with insomnia for a long time and ever since he started taking hemp oil before going to sleep he is finally waking up feeling rested. Because the hemp oil has made such a difference in his ability to get a good night sleep we have now become a part of a company offering the most potent and pure hemp oil in the world. I would love to have the opportunity to tell you more about it so that the people you know struggling with insomnia can get help from a plant based product to help them sleep through the night. I think our Hemp oil would align beautifully with the work you do as a Holistic Health Coach. It is also amazing for people experiencing anxiety or inflammation and it is legal in all 50 states 🙂
    With kind regards,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

