Waiting for January, plus a quick spicy pasta

I was standing in my kitchen after a day of finishing up my holiday shopping and grocery shopping thinking how much I missed the feel of the tile under my feet. I miss the way the light creates familiar shadows at certain times as the sun sets this time of year and how they bend on the wall.  I am sure it sounds like I am not in the kitchen but the thing is I am. I am just cooking dinner  much earlier now that the days are filled with fishmonger duties and cooking up food for strangers. Things I am enjoying a great deal more than I ever thought I would when I started this.

I’ve been creating recipes at work, scribbling them down on scraps of paper and of course misplacing a few of those.  The others I have yet to give a try.  There’s still a small stack of magazines sitting on my desk unread, calling to me.  I have not looked at them as I know I am going to start making a list of things I want to make. I spied a goat cheese gouda cheese at the store and was going to buy it because I am missing gouda like crazy with my no cow diary restrictions but I just wasn’t sure when I really would have time to cook before January rolls around.

There it is, I keep saying in January. But what if January is crazy busy to?  See I am pondering going back to school again. Just trying to figure out which road I take. I love the idea of going into nursing and helping others but my love for food and making people smile and happy with it really out does that. My part-time job is really showing me that too. If I can find a way to combine the two, I’d be thrilled. Just life is such a whirlwind right now I can’t even think about it. So maybe , yeah I am going to say it, maybe in January I’ll sit with a cup of tea and just ponder it all.

So here’s a great , fast and easy dish I’ve recently cooked and I have to say it does reheat well. I cooked it and took it to work with me one night.

I think I am falling in love with pappardelle noodles and have all these ideas in my head of how to use them.

photo 2

Spicy Pappardelle

serves 6

  • 1 pound of pappardelle noodles
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 med onion, chopped
  • 1 -28oz can of diced or crushed tomatoes
  • 1 pound of spicy chicken andouille sausage, sliced (use chorizo or spicy Italian in place of the andouille if you wish)
  • 1/2-1 tsp of red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp dried basil or 1/4 cup of fresh chopped basil
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tbls olive oil
  1. In a large skillet, heat pan with oil. Brown sausage with onion. cook untill sausage is cooked through.
  2. Add garlic and red pepper flakes  to pan and cook untill fragrant.
  3. Add tomatoes,  dried basil and oregano , lower heat to simmer. Stir occasionally.
  4. While the sauce simmers, cook your pasta in boiling water for 9 mins, drain and if you like toss with a little olive oil.
  5. Taste sauce and adjust to your taste with salt and pepper.  Add pasta (and fresh basil if using)  to pan, stir until noodles are covered and enjoy!

In case your curious I picked up the pappardelle noodles at Trader Joe’s along with the chicken andouille  as well. I am in love with their sausage and the great price on it as well. This whole meal was another budget helper that pleased everyone in the family.

photo 1

Leave a Reply

