Where to stick a knife & Crab Lentil Soup

I feel like celebrating. It’s a silly little thing, but a happy one. My home is finally free from child locks and latches. I laugh as four of my five kids are adults and my youngest is now thirteen. It might be good to say “about freaking time!”

Reality is we left the last magnetic drawer lock on our knife drawer.  I long stopped using the large magnet to free the lock as it was worn out after 12 years of use. With a good pull, you could pop the drawer open.  Once opened you would the horrible way I stored my knives. A small drawer with part of a great Ikea knife storage piece but my drawers, being original to the house, don’t fit all the new great organizers out there and I tried to make due. It worked years ago when I only about 4 or 5 knives. Then I started collecting more and it became a dangerous mess for a hand reaching in to get a knife and for the blades themselves. After cutting myself a few years ago I like keeping my knives sharp. Ok right now they are not but by the time this gets posted I am betting my sweet husband will have sharpened them if I haven’t. A sharp knife, even when cutting into your own flesh, as sick as that sounds, is safer than a dull one.  So keeping my knifes safely stored has become an issue that  was bugging me and was part of my kitchen mini makeover the other morning before I left for work.

I am not fond of a knife block. It takes up much-needed counter space. I’ve loved the magnetic strips I have seen and was ready to have one.  I was really happy my husband agreed and even took me to my favorite place, Ikea, to get one.  I thought I’d share some before and after pictures. As you can see it looks pretty cool, makes it easy to not only get the knife I need but get it safely. I had to move a few things around but I am liking the new look of my kitchen and the feel and spaces that opened up. I am feeling like decluttering and shedding a lot of things in my house (and life) right now so this feels so much cleaner.

So here’s the before, messy with the breakfast dishes. Sorry about that. I forgot to take a picture of my horrible, disorganized drawer. Be thankful.

photo 1

Then after, mixer & accessories  relocated, knives on wall, all cleaned up and feeling awesome.  Oh and Ikea is clearing these magnetic out at the moment so if you want one, get one while you can at the lovely lower price. I am sure a newer one will come in but how different will it really be?

photo 2You gotta love a little kitchen makeover that takes less than an hour and comes in under $15. Right? I am still looking for lights for my kitchen. I usually have Christmas type lights up year round. I change them every now and then but I am not seeing much I like. Oh well, it’s nearly March and I found my green lights so maybe I wont bother till then. Then again who knows.

So one night after work I was really looking forward to getting into the kitchen and cooking up dinner. I had a craving for lentils and wanted a nice soup or stew. Believe it or not the following came to me with what was in the house. I had some veggies left over that needed to be used and like I have mentioned before I like to keep canned foods around for just such a  night and well you have rotate your supplies right?

photo

Lentil Crab Soup

  • 6 cups of  vegetable broth
  • 1 leek-sliced
  • 3 carrots-diced
  • 2 parsnips-peeled and diced
  • 2 celery stalks-chopped
  • 1 can of crab meat (or fresh if you can get it)
  • 15 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup of green lentils
  • 2 tsp Herbs de Provence
  • 2 tsp Old Bay Spice (more if you like)
  • 2 tbsp of olive oil
  • salt & pepper to taste
  1. In a heated stock pot, add oil and carrots, parsnips, celery and leeks and cook untill translucent, about 6 mins.
  2. Add broth, tomatoes, lentils, herbs de Provence, old bay. Bring to a boil, turn heat down to low and simmer for 35 mins or untill lentils are tender.
  3. Add canned crab meat, stir and cook for another 2-3 mins untill crab meat is heated up and then season with salt and pepper.
  4. Serve in warmed bowls with a nice sourdough bread
Leave a Reply

