Yes you can have your cinnamon buns and eat them too.

There are a lot of myths about dieting and eating. Since we are in the middle of the high season for diets and weight loss I thought I’d share a few things that I know to be true. I did loose 27 lbs without going on a crazy fad diet. Heck it was some stupid diet foods out there that helped me pack the weight on actually. I’ll go into that more in my next post. I promise.

I love when someone who knows me or thinks they know me gets it in their mind I am one of the following type of eaters:

  • only eat 100% locally grown stuff
  • do not eat any type of sweets at all
  • that I am vegetarian
  • eat like a bird
  • pass on foods as a type of dieting
  • don’t eat dairy because of weight issues
  • only eat organic
  • kill my own animals to eat them
  • hug trees

The last two are sort of jokes. I had a sweet friend make a joke one time that I wouldn’t eat something because I had not gone out and killed it myself. Funny thing was a week later someone said the same thing. I had been sharing about the farmer’s market and how , as odd as this may sound, the place I get goat meat from has a picture book of their farm and the animals and how happy they all looked. It’s not like you’re looking through the book to say “hey I’ll come slaughter that one”.  It’s just a way for people to see how the farm is.

The hug trees comment…maybe it’s true. Enough said.

Thing is I do eat sweets, I do eat meat, and yes, get ready for it…..I do eat at a fast food joint a couple of times a year. I best I can count on one hand how many times in a year I might eat in one and I have to say it is usually only one of two places DiBella’s Subs or Five Guys Burgers and Fries.

I know call the health coach police, I am supposed to be a model of perfect eating habits and health right?

WRONG!

Health coaches are human, some of them do eat 100% clean diet. I am just not one of them I eat to the best of my ability.  There have been times that I have even eaten out and tossed aside the no dairy rule to enjoy something so tasty it was worth the reaction I might have. I don’t do it often but when the opportunity is there, I am going to take it.

One of my favorite treats, next to almond croissants  or any croissant for that matter, is cinnamon buns.  Now thing is most cinnamon buns have HFCS. That is a line I don’t cross with my sensitivities. It’s more painful and more lasting for me than dairy. So you wont find me at say a certain place in most malls but I do enjoy sniffing the air as I walk by and then can go home and make these beauties.

Yes my version is also a little bit healthier. No HFCS and I can pronounce everything going into them and to be honest limited ingredients.  So in my mind they are the junky side of whole food eating. Or my justification. They are good that’s it. Do I eat these daily? Nope. Weekly? Nope. I eat them now and then and when holidays roll around. I can make them the night before, break out the tray say on Christmas or Easter morning and everyone is happy, even me.

So you don’t have to give up yummy foods. Find away to eat them less processed and don’t eat them every single day. Common sense right? I say that I know someone out there is going to think I eat these every morning and use that as an excuse to woof them down and then get mad at me when they pack the weight on, and then go off calling me a skinny lying bitch. No, really it happens.

You will need a bread machine with a dough setting for these. If your amazing and can make your own dough without, awesome. I am not there and I like to just let the machine do the work while I do something else.

Sweet Sticky Cinnamon Buns

For the dough:

3/8 cup of milk, I use soy, coconut or almond

3/8 cup of water

1 egg

3 cups of all-purpose white wheat flour

1 tsp salt

4 tbsp butter (or earth balance or ghee)

1/3 cup of sugar

1 1/2 tsp of active dry yeast (I use Red Star)

For Glaze:

5 tbsp melted butter or butter substitute

1/2 cup of brown sugar

chopped nuts (about 1/4 cup) * optional

Filling:

1 tbsp melted butter (or again a dairy substitute of your choice coconut oil works nicely here)

2 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp cinnamon

1/4 cup of raisins *optional

1/4 cup of chopped nuts *optional

cutting the long roll of dough

cutting the long roll of dough

  1. Place all the dough ingredients into bread machine, put on dough setting and start.
  2. In a small bowl mix together filling ingredients. Set aside.
  3. When dough is ready, melt butter in a baking dish/tray. Make sure it coats the entire bottom of the dish and then sprinkle with brown sugar and chopped nuts if using them.
  4. Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface,  try to get it to a 9 X 18 inch rectangle. but if your like me just roll it out to fit your board or whatever feels right.
  5. Brush melted butter or substitute on the rolled out dough. Sprinkle the dough with the filling you have set aside in the small bowl. Try to get it evenly on the dough if you can.
  6. Roll the dough up from the long edge so you have a nice long roll. Then using a pastry blade, cut into 1 1/2 inch sections.
  7. Place your cut sections into the butter baking pan.
  8.  Let rise for in a warm place for about 20 mins. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  9. Bake in the oven for 25 mins.
  10. Remove from oven and turn the baking dish upside down over a serving tray and allow to cool so you don’t burn your tongue but do enjoy warm with coffee, tea or orange juice!
Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

You can make these ahead by after you put the cut sections into the baking tray, cover with plastic wrap and place in fridge. Get up in the morning, pull tray out and allow to rise for about 35-40 mins and then bake as above.

I hope you’ll give this a try next weekend and enjoy them, guilt free! Life is to short to have guilt over food.

Blessings!

Shelly

Leave a Reply

