Love Dinner For Breakfast- Enchiladas

There is something just wonderful about waking up and knowing there is something you can just warm up for breakfast that is a savory good.  The recipe below was one that as soon as dinner was over I knew I was heating a slice of this up and serving it with an egg for breakfast. It was perfect with a cup of coffee and kept me more than satisfied till I had a late lunch.

I love cooking recipes from Engine 2. I read the book last summer and while I am not going to vegetarian, I do believe that eating more vegetables is a key to better health.  I know there is a term for it Rip’s book but I can’t remember it. I do know the recipes are not only usually very easy to make and extremely tasty but they always seem to work perfect for my budget. I am for eating less meat.

I did decide to make my own enchilada sauce instead of buying a jarred sauce. I am still perfecting my sauce and will share a recipe as soon as I get it to taste just like I want but there is nothing wrong with buying a sauce. Just look for one with ingredients you know.

This goes together more like a lasagna but that makes it easy to toss together and kids can help if you got them. I also have found that Engine 2 recipes tend to feed more than they say. I think it should say something like 4-6 hungry firemen.

This recipe can be found along with other really tasty recipes that any carnivore would happily eat over at the Engine 2 Diet website along with all kinds of information. I have to  say reading Rip’s book is well worth a read. I enjoyed not only the information he shares but the way in which it is written and the look into the life of a fireman.

Leftovers for breakfast

Leftovers for breakfast

E2 Matt Moore’s Enchiladas (Vegan)

serves 6-8

    • 16 ounces mushrooms, sliced
    • 32 ounces frozen spinach, thawed and drained
    • 30 ounces fat-free, frozen hash-brown potatoes
    • 2 teaspoons cumin
    • 2 tablespoons chili powder
    • 8 ounces canned diced green chilies
    • 18 corn tortillas
    • 3 16-ounce jars fat-free enchilada sauce (Whole Foods’ Religious Experience is excellent)
    • 12 sprigs cilantro, rinsed

    E2 Matt Moore’s Enchiladas (Vegan)

    Yield

    6-8


    Ingredients

      • 16 ounces mushrooms, sliced
      • 32 ounces frozen spinach, thawed and drained
      • 30 ounces fat-free, frozen hash-brown potatoes
      • 2 teaspoons cumin
      • 2 tablespoons chili powder
      • 8 ounces canned diced green chilies
      • 18 corn tortillas
      • 3 16-ounce jars fat-free enchilada sauce
      • 12 sprigs cilantro, rinsed

    Instructions:

      1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
      2. Sauté mushrooms and spinach on medium heat in large non-stick skillet for 5 minutes, or until mushrooms are soft. Drain liquid, and remove to large bowl.
      3. Cook potatoes on high heat in sprayed skillet for 10 minutes until lightly browned on both sides. Sprinkle potatoes with cumin and chili powder.
      4. Gently combine potatoes, green chilies, mushrooms, and spinach.
      5. Line the bottom of non stick 9 X 13 casserole with 6 tortillas. You can use a very thin layer of tomato puree or enchilada sauce if you don’t have a non stick dish.
      6. Place half of the vegetable mixture over tortillas and cover with one jar of sauce.
      7. Repeat the process: tortillas, vegetables, sauce.
      8. Top with the remaining six tortillas and jar of sauce.
      9. Bake uncovered for 30 minutes. Allow to sit for 15 minutes before serving. Garnish with cilantro sprigs

       

    Like I said this is great for breakfast and leftovers for say lunch work out great.

    Till next time!

    Shelly

Leave a Reply

