Salad for those who don’t like salad.

IMG_1656Thinking budget and ease and trying to eat the least processed food I can this recipe stuck out. What I didn’t know is how much my guys were going to like it. I was worried honestly. My husband said you really can’t call this a salad and my son said this was a salad for those who wont eat salads. For me it was a way to enjoy a salad with warmth. Something I need in the cold winter months.

The recipe doesn’t call for salad but she suggests you serve it on some greens. She  also suggests serving with chili sauce, which I did put on mine but I also put out hot sauce for the guys. Yum!!

The recipe is from Nigella Lawson’s book, “Nigella Kitchen: Recipes from the Heart of the Home“.

Sweet Potato Supper -serves 2

  • 2 sweet potatoes, washed and dried, but not peeled, cut into quarters
  • 16 slices smoked bacon, snipped
  • 8 ounces asparagus tips ( I cut up full asparagus and used all of it)
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • a few sprigs of thyme or 1 t. dried  thyme
  • 3 T. canola oil
  • salt to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 425 F.
  2. Arrange the sweet potatoes chunks in a large roasting pan and then drop in most of the bacon followed by the asparagus tips and garlic cloves, and finally, the remaining bacon.
  3. Sprinkle with thyme and pour the oil over.
  4. Bake for 30 minutes then turn the sweet potatoes over and bake for another 30 minutes.
  5. Then enjoy!
Leave a Reply

