Grilled Portobella Mushroom

I am not a vegan or a vegetarian but I am seeing more and more reasons to become one. I do eat meat less during the warmer months. I just don’t feel as well eating it when the weather is warm but come the cold months of winter I am craving it.

People go vegan/vegetarian for a lot of reason. Most because of the horrid way animals are treated. While I was a student at IIN I learned a bit more about the care and treatment of the US farm animal. It wasn’t pretty at all. A couple of weeks ago I watched “Vegucated”, a movie about three New Yorker carnivores going vegan for six weeks. In that movie it went deeper into the horrible treatment of not only the super market meat most people start to shy away from but even that of the supposed “OK” meats that like “free range” chickens that are far from free range. It was really honestly sad and disgusting and unbelievably worse than what I saw in school.

Some folks go vegetarian for health reasons. There’s a lot of fat in animal meat. Other folks do it to reduce their carbon footprint. I’ll admit that these two are the reasons I eat meat less these days.

I’ve tried a lot of meat substitutes. Tofu, Seitan and Tempeh. I can’t seem to find a way to cook tempeh in a way I like. I’ve had it once on a salad that I enjoyed but have not been able to recreate what was done to it.  Seitan I have been able to trick a few folks that it was chicken in a stirfry. I know horrible to do. Tofu I am the lone eater of in my home.

The one thing I have always read about and just for whatever reason never tried was Portobella Mushrooms.  I kept hearing and reading how meaty they were.  A little investigating I found that while I knew there was no cholesterol in them , unlike animal proteins, they have 5 grams of protein per 1 cup, 3 grams of fiber and only 12 g of sodium.  They also have important vitamines like B6 & B1, riboflavin, Zinc and niacin. They also have a high antioxidant capability. Did I mention they are cheaper than say ground beef for steak?

So one night while the guys were having steak and blue cheese on their salad, I had grilled Portobello mushroom.  I didn’t feel like I missed out on anything. Actually I felt lucky nobody really wanted any and I got to eat two all to myself.  They  were meaty in their own way.

Grilled Portobello

Grilled Portobello

Grilled Portobella Mushroom

  • 3 mushrooms
  • Olive oil
  • basil
  • oregano
  • balsamic vinegar
  1. In a bowl mix the oil, herbs and vinegar.
  2. Heat grill
  3. Trim mushroom stems and wipe tops with a dry paper towel to remove any dirt
  4. Brush mushrooms with oil mixture
  5. grill mushrooms 5 mins per side

photo 4

I then sliced and put on my favorite salad and topped with balsamic vinegar dressing and hemp seeds for even more protein.

Leave a Reply

