Heat Wave Eats- Easy Cold Soba Noodle Salad

I am not going to complain about the current heat wave we are in. I know folks have it much worse heat wise than we do here in New England and to be honest, I’m not sitting in my house looking out at several feet of snow that is so high the town needs to send out a backloader to start to dig our street out. Yeah, some heat is easy to hide from and cool down from. I’ve got a pitcher of cucumber water in the fridge, watermelon sliced up and I know how and when to move around my house and yard to find places that almost make you think they are naturally air-conditioned. Besides, the heat doesn’t block me in the house, I am able to go to the mall for a cool walk and window shopping or head to the library to just chill out or better yet my favorite cafe. Nope you wont find me complaining about the heat with a rant.

When it does turn hot here I tend to make sure we are eating light and have the above mentioned items in the house along with berries and other fruits and salad fixings. I watched my youngest son cut up veggies and make a nice salad today for lunch while I ate the remains of last night meal which is the recipe I am going to share with you this week. A very easy cold soba noodle salad. Our menu this week is filled with either grill it outside items or eat it cold items like tuna salad stuffed tomatoes and anitpasta. Cold soba noodles is just the asian version of cold pasta salad right?

I love soba noodles. You can have them hot, cold or in soup. I have a standard recipe I like to make in the summer that is cold that involves seaweed and avocados and is just heavenly and so simple. Today’s recipe I came up with myself on a whim one day at my part-time job. The good side of that job is working with food. That day I was working with an organic salad dressing and was making salads all day. The salad dressing is a Lemon, Ginger, Sesame is by Culinary Treasures. After a few tastes it made sense it would make a great marinade for seafood , chicken and pork but I started thinking about my beloved soba noodles and the cold salads I make.

Most ingredients were bought organic and in budget at Trader Joe's.

Most ingredients were bought organic and in budget at Trader Joe’s. The soba noodles I found at my local grocery store

The following recipe made enough to feed 6 folks with leftovers for lunch the next day. I cooked shrimp with mine but served it to the side for folks to put on top of their salad so the salad would hold longer. I knew the shrimp would go first anyhow.

photo 3

Quick Summer Soba Noodle Salad

  • 1 pkg Soba noodles
  • TJ’s broccoli slaw mix (broccoli/carrots) or your favorite slaw mix ( see tip to change this up after recipe)
  • edamame (shelled about 2 cups)
  • green onions (sliced)
  • sesame seeds , optional (for garnish)
  • crushed red pepper flakes (to taste)
  • salt & pepper ( to taste)
  • Lemon ginger sesame dressing
  • cooked shrimp/chicken (optional)

1. Put two pots of water on the stove and bring to a boil. In one pot cook edamame if not already cooked, for 5 mins, drain and rinse with cool water. In the other pot cook soba noodles according to direction. Drain and rinse with cool water.

2. In a large bowl mix the cooked and cooled soba noodles, edamame, slaw mix, green onion and protein if using or serve to the side. Add 1/4 cup of salad dressing , mix. Season with salt, pepper and red pepper flakes and taste. Adjust seasoning and dressing if needed. Chill in the fridge untill ready to eat enjoy!

**Mix it up option** – In place of pre-made slaw sharpen your knife skills or use your food processor to shred up brussels sprouts, kholrabi , kale or your favorite summer fresh vege.

Seaweed would make a great substitute if no fresh vege is around. I like to keep wakame in my cupboard and just simply rehydrated while you’re boiling your water and cooking your noodles.

Don’t like edamame? Use peas or lima beans.

Leave a Reply

