When noodles inspire, Shelly’s Lemon Pepper Pappardelle Dish

I have yet to come up with a name for what I made the other night. It turned out really good to be honest.  Let me start from the begining though.

I was in my local Trader Joe’s a few weeks back and saw a new item on the shelf, Lemon Pepper Pappardelle. I was buying my usual egg pappardelle and pondered what to do with a lemon pepper pasta. I put the bag back down and walked off. This went on for weeks. I pick it up, I put it down. Not sure what to do with it but really wanting to try it. All the while thinking I best buy these darn things because Trader Joe’s is known for being very seasonal  with a few things and this just might be one of those seasonal items.

photo 1

So last week as I sat down to plan out my weekly menu the thought of those lemon pepper noodles popped into my head. As I thought what they might taste like I thought about other foods I loved that might go with it and viola the following dish was created in my kitchen this past Saturday night.

photo 2

Lemon Pepper Pappardelle w/artichokes, goat cheese, chard, and chicken.

1 pkg Lemon Lepper Pappardelle

1 jar of artichoke hearts (rough chopped if desired)

1 bag/bunch of rainbow chard (if bunch, chop up)

crumbled goat cheese

3 chicken breasts grilled ( olive oil, herbamare and pepper)

3 cloves of garlic , minced

red pepper flakes , to taste

pinch or so of basil and oregano

Lemon juice (or lemon wedges for serving)

1. Grill your chicken and set to the side to rest. Slice when cool enough to handle.

2. Start your pot of water for pasta, bring to a boil and add pasta.

3.When you put in pasta heat up some olive oil in a saute pan and cook garlic for 2 mins. Add some pepper flakes and give a good stir then add rainbow chard and turn down heat. Cook untill wilted. Add artichoke hearts to pan and give a few stirs till they are warmed. Taste and then add basil, oregano and fresh ground pepper to taste.

4. Drain your pasta.

5. Mix pasta with chard mixture. Sprinkle plates with goat cheese crumbles and chicken slices. Squeeze lemon juice over top and serve!

Leave a Reply

