Simple, Quick & Elegant- Oven Roasted Cod on Garlic Croutons

I was down to the wire with planning a menu. I wanted something that night for dinner that was simple to cook, but I actually wanted something good, that made me feel like I cooked. I was craving fish and earlier that day had found a baguette in the trunk of my car that I had missed bringing in the groceries the week before. Yes, it was now a bread baseball bat that my middle son used to feed the seagulls that instinctively knew we had stale bread in a Target parking lot. I wanted another baguette and some tomatoes. The cravings were all there.

The following came from that odd set of circumstances and cravings.  It turned out to be a beautiful dish that even impressed my husband.  I took some shortcuts. I could have made my own bruschetta but it was a lot easier to put that bottle of Trader Joe’s bruschetta in the cart.  I’ll make my own another day. I had the whole meal on the table in 15 minutes. So keep this one in your menu plan when you need a pretty elegant dish but need it quick.

I am posting the side dish as well this time so you have a complete meal.

photo

Oven Roasted Cod on Garlic Croutons

  • Cod fish- I did one piece per person cut into two pieces
  • olive oil
  • sea salt & pepper
  • french baguette- cut into slices
  • homemade or store-bought bruschetta
  • garlic bulbs, peeled and lightly smashed
  • fresh basil leaves-torn or cut if large leaf
  • Lemon Wedge
  1. Set your oven to broil.  Line a cookie sheet with aluminium foil and wipe with olive oil (or use cooking spray) to keep fish from sticking.  Coat each piece of fish with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.
  2. On another cookie sheet place bread slices and brush with olive oil and rub smashed garlic bulbs on to give flavor.
  3. Place fish in oven and cook for 5 mins or untill fish is flakey and white. Toast bread in oven till lightly brown. Don’t over toast. You want outside to be crunch and inside to still be soft.
  4. To plate- place garlic toasts on plate, top with fish. Spoon bruschetta on to fish and top with basil leaves and put a lemon wedge on plate.
  5. Enjoy!

Sauteed Shaved Brussel Sprouts

serves 3

  • one bag of shaved brussel sprouts (or whole ones ran through a food processor)
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • Old bay seasoning to taste (optional)
  • balsamic vinegar
  1. Heat olive oil in a large pan and add brussel sprouts and mix to coat in oil.
  2. Keep stirring sprouts over med-high heat, cooking untill bright green.
  3. Season with salt, pepper & old bay. Taste and adjust seasoning if needed
  4. Add a splash (or two)  of balsamic vinegar. Give a good stir and cook for 1 minute more.
  5. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

