Bookstore inspiration- Simple pepper pasta dish

My youngest son and I have been spending a lot of time at a local bookstore. I usually pick him up from school. As per his request, I have his favorite tunes pumping and my car parked where his friends can see him. I usually top this off with having my “whip” freshly washed, tires shined , sunroof open and my coolest shades on. I don’t look like mom so it works.  He gets an instant smile when he sees me. Hard thing to get from a 14-year-old who’s had big changes this year as he went from homeschooling to public school.

Once down the road the tunes get turned down a notch or two and we start talking and laughing about his day. We arrive at the bookstore, get a tasty beverage and start walking around looking at what we might find and remembering books we read when he was younger.

One trip he found a magazine filled with bands he loves and took his drink and sat in the large comfy couches and got to reading. Happily it was right next to the cookbook section so I started pulling books and thumbing through them.  I was thinking it has been awhile since I brought home a new cookbook, then the guilt of not working through Dori’s My French Kitchen hits me. Eh, who knew how much life would change. I’ve got lots of time ahead of me to cook my way through every recipe in that book.

I want to say it was a Mark Bittman book that inspired me to dig into my purse and grab my notebook and pen I keep in there and start jotting down ideas for dinners. It was like a cooking muse had been on my shoulder whispering ideas.  Now if only I could find the page I wrote it all down on I’d be thrilled.

photo 2

The one idea that stuck in my mind was doing a pasta dish with peppers. Something simple, fast but tasty. The following is what I came up with. Play with it and make it yours. I think next time I am going to add a can of anchovies to the pan first and cook those down.  If you have time to roast your own peppers I say go for it!!  I didn’t and thus I used the tasty things from Trader Joe’s to create this dish. Nice thing, if you keep this in your pantry you have a dinner on hand for those nights you’re in a rush to get dinner on the table.

Simple Pepper & Capers Pasta

1 lb of pasta

1 jar of fire roasted peppers (drained and chopped)

1 jar of yellow and red peppers (drained and chopped)

1/3 a jar of capers (use more or less, rinse before use)

2- 3 garlic bulbs, minced

oregano, basil, pepper to taste

Olive Oil , about 2 tablespoons

photo 3

Set a pot of water to boil and cook pasta in boiling water according to instructions. Drain and drizzle with olive oil if you wish.

In a hot saute pan, add olive oil and garlic, cook for 2 mins. Add peppers and stir and cook untill heated through. Add capers and spices, cooking untill heated through.

Add pepper mixture to pasta, top with your favorite cheese or nutritional yeast and enjoy!

photo 4

Leave a Reply

