Sometimes things are just “eh”. Crockpot stuffed peppers

Lately I am learning a lot about myself and others. It’s been an interesting journey with a lot of ups and downs. The biggest lesson I learned in the last week is that sometimes you just feel “eh” and it’s ok to ask for help, take shortcuts and rest. I am not very good at this as when I am resting I am feeling guilty about resting and thinking I should be doing so much more. Which adds to my stress thus not helping me with my health. Oh what a fun ride this thing called life is right?

I wasn’t sure if I was going to share this recipe or not to be honest. It too was just “eh”.  But there’s the thing. I am going to remake this over, do it my own way and try again. I’ll share the upgraded version when I do.  But for now I thought maybe someone might actually like this.

Things I think went wrong with it were that the peppers were to soft and that the filling was to sweet. Yes to sweet. It was odd. I had thoughts of a dish I made years ago when I was able to do the French Fridays with Dori and a Moroccan dish we all made. Wasn’t bad but wasn’t my cup of tea either.

I think my family and I like a more savory or even spicy stuff pepper so if that is something you like I suggest possibly using your favorite meatloaf recipe in place of the meat filling here.  Play around with it and make it your own.

photo

Picadilo Stuffed Peppers – Slow Cooker

Serves 6

    • 1 1/2 jar(26 oz) marinara sauce
    • 1 1/2 tbsp red wine vinegar
    • 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
    • 1/3 tsp ground cinnamon
    • 6 lg bell peppers (preferably yellow and orange)
    • 3/4 lg bell peppers (preferably yellow and orange)
    • 12 oz ground beef (93% lean)
    • 3/4 Cup converted rice
    • 1/2 Cup finely chopped onion
    • 1/3 Cup Craisins
    • chopped parsley (garnish)

     

      1. In medium bowl, stir sauce, vinegar, cumin, and cinnamon. Pour 1 1/3 cups of sauce mixture into 4 quart or larger slow cooker.
      2. Finely chop the half bell pepper. Slice off top 1/2″ of remaining peppers. Seed peppers and reserve tops.
      3. In large bowl, using your hands, combine beef, uncooked rice, onion, raisins, chopped pepper, and remaining sauce mixture. Spoon resulting mixture into peppers and replace tops. Place into slow cooker.
      4. Cover and cook on low 6 to 8 hours or until peppers are tender and filling is cooked through. Serve topped with sauce from pot. Garnish with parsley, if desired.
Leave a Reply

