It takes a villiage- Tilapia with Peach Salsa

I remember when I would find parents who were willing to help keep the teens we were raising in check. You know,  letting you know they arrived and keeping them straight. I would at that time feel like yes it does take a village to raise a child.  Lots of times I felt like I was outside that village. Our family did things to the beat of our drum. I had a home birth, I breastfed a kid or two past one, had the family bed and homeschooled. Oh and for goodness sake we did family dinners! As the kids got older we expected them to be home for Sunday dinner.

My family is different from that now. I mean we do family dinners nearly every night with whoever is here. But with my work schedule, adult kids who have lives and a grand baby living under our roof things are running a lot looser. I also don’t make a lot of things from scratch like I use to.  There’s some quilt with that for me but I suppose I will get over it one day.

So recently when a woman came through my line sharing recipes with anyone would listen, I took notes. She was talking about quick recipes that to me seemed like they were still healthy. Just easy enough to prepare for a working mom to fix up quick.  I didn’t get her name but I enjoyed talking to her as I got her order completed.  I got to thinking it might just take a village to fed a family at times. I know I was grateful for her tips and her conversation. She made me feel like part of her family as she shared her stories around her recipes.

The story that went with this dish was that she liked to visit family. Her husband not so much. So she would go stay with her family for a bit. Her husband was the type of man who didn’t like to cook and didn’t really know how. So she would leave him easy things with simple directions for him to cook up. This is one of his favorites she said. I laughed as I looked down at her 7 jars of salsa and asked, “Going away for a long time?”  She smiled and said no, she liked to put this salsa on everything grilled from fish to pork.  Makes sense to me and I made a mental note that Peach salsa was now a new cupboard staple.

photo

Simple quick Tilapia with Peach Salsa

  • Tilapia fillets
  • salt
  • pepper
  • jar of Peach Salsa (store-bought or homemade)

Preheat oven to 375. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Lay Tilapia fillets on paper, season lightly with salt and pepper. Bake in oven for 15 mins or untill fish is flaky.  Top with peach salsa and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

