Faster than take out- Shrimp Pad Thai

I found myself one morning outside my favorite Thai place looking in with nobody there. It hadn’t hit me that they were not open yet. I had been fasting for several hours for an ultrasound test and now that it was over I was ready to eat and I had craving for Thai food. Sadly my favorite place was not going to open for a while and I had to be at work later that day. So off I went to get a Thai salad. Not my first choice but it worked.

I’ve recently decided to cut  any unfermented soy out of my diet and so when I came across an Engine 2 recipe for Pad Thai I thought great, then thought bummer it wants tofu in it. Not a bad thing, I can just switch it out for shrimp! Which is what I did along with a few other things.  Sadly the bean sprouts I bought for this dish went bad before I could cook them so they are missing.

 

photo

 

EZ Shrimp Pad Thai

serves 3-4

    • 3 to 6 Tbsp vegetable stock or water
    • 1 garlic clove, minced
    • 3 scallions (green onions), cut into 1 inch lengths
    • 12 ounces flat rice noodles, I used Trader Joe’s found in the refridge section.
    • 1 pound shrimp
    • 2 cups broccoli florets
    • 1 cup bean sprouts
    • 1/2 tsp chili powder
    • 2 tsp dark brown sugar
    • 4 Tbsp low-sodium tamari or soy sauce
    • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
    • 4 Tbsp home-toasted peanuts, chopped
    • 8 sprigs cilantro
  1. Prep and measure all ingredients before starting the cooking process. The cooking will go really fast and you won’t be able to chop and measure in between steps.
  2. Heat 3 Tbsp vegetable stock in a wok or large nonstick skillet until it starts to bubble. Cook the garlic in the vegetable stock for 1 minute, until the garlic begins to brown lightly. Add the shrimp and cook for another min or two.  One at a time, add the scallions, noodles, broccoli and sprouts, stirring for 45 seconds after each addition. (I needed to add 3 more Tbsp of vegetable broth during this phase because my mixture was too dry.) Add the chili power, sugar, tamari and lemon juice. Stir to combine and remove from heat. Garnish with peanuts (or slivered almonds) and cilantro.
Leave a Reply

