Feels like summer- Spiced chicken with couscous salad

We’ve had a wonderful feeling warm patch hit us here in New England. After lots of snow and rain, it’s a good feeling to welcome sunshine and warmth.

As the weather changes so does my appetite. I start crave a bit lighter fare and more greens. Anyone who eats seasonally knows this is your body’s natural way of detoxing the winter fats away.

I found the following recipe at Real Simple. I was looking for something healthy and quick to cook up. I feel like I say this all the time now. My days use to be filled with cooking recipes that took hours. Now I am looking for 30 mins or less with lots of flavor and simple ingredients.

Now I changed up the recipe a bit. I didn’t add in whole basil and I used an Israeli Couscous instead of a regular one as I just like it better.  I am not sure this had enough spice for everyone but a bottle of hot sauce on the table can help with that. I might up the spice a bit more next time.

 

20140521-081027-29427385.jpg

Spiced Chicken with Couscous Salad

serves 4

    • 3 tablespoons olive oil
    • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (6 ounces each)
    • 1 teaspoon paprika
    • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
    • kosher salt and black pepper
    • 3/4 cup couscous ( I used Israeli Couscous)
    • 3/4 pound cherry or grape tomatoes, quartered
    • 1/4 pound snap peas, thinly sliced crosswise (about 1 cup)( I left mine whole)
    • 1/2 cup torn fresh basil
    • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest plus 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
    1. Heat 1 tablespoon of the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Season the chicken with the paprika, cumin, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper.
    2. Cook the chicken until golden brown and cooked through, 6 to 7 minutes per side. Transfer to a cutting board.
    3. Meanwhile, place the couscous in a large bowl. Add 1 cup hot tap water, cover, and let sit for 5 minutes. Fluff with a fork.
    4. Add the tomatoes, snap peas, basil, lemon zest and juice, remaining oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper to couscous. Toss to combine.
    5. Slice the chicken and serve with the couscous.
Leave a Reply

