Health care & Spaghetti Squash for supper

Some people say Labor day weekend is the end of summer. Others think when the massive amounts of pumpkin flavored products start hitting the shelves it’s officially fall.  For me it’s when it’s whenever it feels cool enough to cook with the oven again and I am baking up squash.

This week I’ve cooked my fair share of spaghetti squash at work. it was fun to get folks to try it and share how it’s a great alternative to pasta.  One gentleman told me he was tired of the gluten free craze. After talking to him a few mins I found out that like me, he is prediabetic. His doctor , much like mine , gave him no support at all on what to eat. Just said watch your sugar and see you at your next appointment.  We talked a bit and I explained what I was doing and how I am a health coach and I have some blood test coming up and I will see how much I have reversed this by doing some lifestyle changes.  After a brief talk about carbs , my friend walked away with spaghetti squash and hand written instructions from me on how to cook it. He said he let me know how he did. I am looking forward to it.

It drives me crazy that when you  look at the health care system they are happy to shell out several thousands for someone to have say gastro-bypass then allow them to work with a health coach or a nutritionist to loose weight and prevent disease.  I am finding I am not alone in the fact I was just told I am prediabetic, they are not sure why and well good luck and watch your sugar.  A friend recently told me she got this same treatment.

I’ve cut my carb intake. I wont say I’ve gone no carb as that is not going to happen in my life and I am not so sure it’s a good idea to be honest. For me.  It might be for others.  Have I eaten foods that are not so great?  YES! I am not ashamed it. However one night I ran out and got some ice cream I normally would not  a long with some cookies and boy did I pay for it the next day. But the key is I didn’t get all angry at myself and say oh well and fall out of my wagon and burn it and dance around it with the tub of ice cream (sound like a fun plan though).  I just took the following day to eat extra clean and clear the junk out. Then got back to my way of eating.

So before I share my spaghetti squash supper with you, know this, if you fell of your diet, are feeling horrible about it and are beating yourself up while you woof down some chips , know your not alone and you can do this.  It’s ok to make mistakes, it’s ok to fail. If we never did we would never learn. That’s the key, learn from it. If you’re having troubles ask for help. Keep asking till someone helps you.  It might take a few people but support is out there. I promise you it is.

image

Spaghetti Squash with Sausage & Peppers.

1 large spaghetti squash ( see tips on cutting below)


olive oil

2 bell peppers, diced

onion, diced

2 bulbs of garlic, minced

1 lb of Italian chicken sausage

your favorite tomato sauce (no sugar in it)

basil

oregano

pepper to taste

 

Cut your spaghetti squash in half and take the seeds out. Place in a baking dish with water and cover with foil. Bake at 425 for 30 mins. check to see if you can start to get the meat to pull away from the shell with a fork. If you can’t, leave it in there for a bit longer. If it’s ready place ont he counter for a few mins to cool.

Meanwhile, in a skillet heat the olive oil, add the onion and cook for two mins, then add the peppers and cook untill every thing is almost soft. Add your sausage and cook untill the sausage is browned. Poor in your sauce, stir and taste. Then season to your liking with spices, salt and pepper.

image

Using a fork, scrap the meat out of the shell of the squash. It should come out like strands. Add the squash to your sauce and mix. Serve with fresh parm and enjoy!

 

Cutting spaghetti squash can be scary if you’re not use to doing it. First always use a sharp knife.  It sounds wrong but you can do more damage to yourself from a cut with a dull knife than a sharp one.  Then, what I do is cut the top off the squash. This gives me a flat surface to make the length wise cut.

image

Next , run your blade down the center of the squash.  Use a spoon to scrape out seeds.

 

Well that it’s for this time. I’ve got kombucha to check on need to make a little self care list as I fell off the wagon of doing that. I can feel the difference. I’ll let you know how my  follow up visit with my doctor went in my next post. I am hopeful I am turning this prediabets things around. Oh and I need to share what happened when I went to the cancer center.  That can wait, right now, I need a cup of tea.

Warmly,

Shelly

Leave a Reply

