When Salmon meets Siracha

I can easily get stuck in a rut of cooking certain proteins the same way and serving them to my family. Salmon is one of those. If I find a recipe the entire family likes why try something new?

Last week I took myself to the library to get out of the house and to look for some books for a project I am working on. I came across Gyneth Paltrow’s book , “It’s All Good”.  In the book she talks about her health and the healing power of foods. I remember when this book came out and the talk about a celebrity pushing a clean eating lifestyle. Personally I don’t have a problem with it. If it gets folks eating healthy, hurrah!

I decided to try the recipe titled Salmon with Lee’s Siracha + Lime.  The thing is she gives you a recipe to make Lee’s Siracha. Lee being one of her Gwyneth’s friends. I just didn’t have the time to make homemade siracha. Though I admit I am curious to do it and will in the future.  So I just used your typical Siracha from my local grocery store. She says it’s full of chemicals and I have yet to look at the bottle honestly to see how filled with chemicals it is, but seeing how it’s a small amount used and I wont eat this daily, I’ll live. I pick my battles with clean eating. I live in the world of it would be nice to clean eat 100% of the time but it is not practicle for me. A few years ago it was today I am in a different place and it’s not. So if I can do 70/30 (70% clean 30% not ) I feel I am doing ok. My real goal is 80/20 but you have to get there one step at a time.

The flavor was good, though my guys went and put more lime and  siracha on theirs. I think this would really good in the summer on a salad as suggested in her book. I served it with an ancient grain blend and green beans.

I am writing the recipe with the ingredients I used. I didn’t use the homemade siracha and I used a different item for the maple syrup.

image

Salmon with Siracha and Lime

serves 4

Zest of  one lime

1 1/2 tablespoons lime juice

1 1/2 teaspoon siracha

1 tablespoon organic maple agave syrup

Himilyaian sea salt

1 1/4 pounds wild caught salmon fillet, skin discarded

2 tablespoons roughly chopped cilantro.

 

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

Whisk together the lime zest and juice, siracha and maple syrup along with a pinch of salt.  Place the salmon on a baking tray line with parchment paper and brush the lime siracha mixture all over it.

Slide the baking tray into the oven and cook your salmon for 15 mins or untill it’s flakey. This time can change depending ont he thickness of your fillets.

Once out and plated, sprinkle with cilantro and serve.

We had out wedges of limes and the siracha for people to up the heat on this dish.

 

This is one of those dishes that with some simple sides or atop a salad it makes for an easy quick week night meal that falls under the whole foods clean eating most of us should be doing more of. Not to mention Salmon is filled with  an amazing amount of B12 and vitamin D that many folks are low on in the midwinter months. As well as being a wonderful protein that is filled with the Omega 3 fats we all need more of as well.

Blessings,

Shelly

Leave a Reply

