Banh Mi , a perfect Sunday finish

Wihile I am Health Coach by night my day job has changed and I am now able to be a mild mannered banker by day. The best part is more time with my  husband and any of my kids who are home. Understand I am the mom of 4 adults and one 15 yr old going on major independence. 

What I have missed working in retail the past several years is having Sundays at home. Being able to cook a meal that just makes you feel all happy and coszy and is like the cherry on top of the weekend was something my soul actually missed.  While not every weekend ends with such a meal but I do try now that I have Sundays off. 

I was looking around one week to try a new recipe. Pork happened to be on sale and I wanted something different. I was watching the Cooking Channel and they were talking about Banh Mi. I’ve never had this Vietnamese sandwich and decided it was time to try it.  I went in search for a recipe and found one on a blog site called ” A better happier St. Sebastian”.  Which I have to say had the most beautiful mouthwatering photos I have seen. 

The recipe was easy enough and sounded perfect. The only challenge I found was that I don’t have a Vietnamese bakery near me and was really looking for the Banh Mi rolls which I hear really makes this dish. I did my best to look aorund but ended up using a crispy hogie roll baked my local grocery store.  I hope to find the crispy rice flour rolls someplace. I am sure there has to be a place in New Haven that has them.  I also was not able to get a 6lb pork shoulder roast. Usually my local store has them but for some odd reason this time they didn’t so I used a pork loin roast. 

The surprise part was the Asian slaw that was suggested to serve next to it. This maybe my new go to cole slaw. It was easy and simple and the family loved it.  I changed it from the recipe I found by buying a bag of broccoli slaw. I know crazy.

This Sunday dinner was a hit and we had leftovers for myself and the family to take to work the next day. The even better part, having dinner cooking away in the crockpot while I enjoyed the day with my family.

  
Thai Style Pulled Pork

  • 4 lb pork loin roast
  • 1 red pepper , chopped and seeds removed
  • 1 onion finally chipped
  • 1 can of lite coconut milk
  • 3-4 tbsp of red thai curry paste
  • 1 lime
  • 1 1/2 tsp ginger powder
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tblsp fish sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • fresh cilantro for serving

Trim any fat from your roast and salt and pepper it.  In a large skillet warm some oil and brown all the sides of the roast. Transfer the roast to the crockpot. Top with  ginger and garlic powder, pepper and onion, put lid on crockpot, set to low and cook for 8 hrs or untill your roast is so tender it just falls apart. 

When your roast is finsihed remove from crockpot and transfer the juices to a skillet and whisk in coconut milk, curry paste fish sauce and juice from lime. Cook sauce on simmer for 10 mins while you shred the pork.  When done add the the sauce to shred pork. Serve on rolls with cilantro.

Asian Slaw

  • 1 pkg of of broccoli slaw
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbs rice vinegar
  • 2 tsp ume plum vingear 
  • 1 tbs sesame oil.

Toss everything together in a large bowl. Serve on Bahn Mi or as a side to any other asian inspired dish or as replacement for your high calorie cole slaw. 

That’s all for this time. Next week I bring you another video with a healthy tip for eating well this spring!

Shelly


One response

  1. Pingback: What is a Country Style Rib? And other ponderings. | Shelly's Cookery

Leave a Reply

