Blink and you can make  gluten free pasta!

It was a couple of years ago when I decided one warm humid day to try to make pasta from scratch. My best friend and “Italian sister” told it was not the best day to try this. I went ahead anyway. That’s what I do.  I made the sauce from fresh tomatoes and even baked my own bread. Needless today I spent most of the day in the kitchen to cook a meal my family ate up in moments. It was good and I did enjoying making pasta from scratch. Just seemed like so much work for it to be gone in 15 mins. Oh well, I learned I could make pasta. 

While I did my 10 Day Kick Sugar Challenge, I wanted pasta. But I was giving up flour and I wasn’t looking to eat rice pasta or quinoa pasta or any other gluteen free pasta. Just wasn’t sounding good. Spaghetti squash isn’t in season so that was out.  Then I remember thinking I saw someone make noodles out of zucchini. Which lately I am addicted to.  

How easy was it? To easy. All you need is a freshly washed zucchini and a carrot/potato peeler.  Then you simply cut the ends of the zucchini off, take the peeler and peel off ribbons untill you get to the seeds. Turn the zucchini and peel again untill you reach the seeds. Repeat untill you have peeled all your zucchini.  

  
To cook the  “noodles”,  I just heated some olive oil in a pan and cooked untill they were slightly softened. Top with your sauce and your set. I used these recently in my favorite Leeks & chorizo pasta dish. It worked perfect! My guys even liked it so much there was nothing left. 

Looking for a sugar free pasta sauce? You can find mine by clicking here.

So give it a try in your favorite pasta dish.  

Untill next time!

Shelly

 

Leave a Reply

