Sunday, Sunday….my favorite homemade pancake/waffle mix

It’s been a little bit of time, I feel like,  since my last post. I got busy with the 10 Day Kick Sugar Challenge I created. The group did so well. I am proud of everyone that was a part of it. I’ll be doing another one before the summer is over so stay tuned. The recipe I am sharing today is not for those on a sugar kick. Let me start by saying that. If you are looking for a mix without added extra sugar and chemicals and are looking to bring back the family table at breakfast, keep reading.  

Recently life got busy and slightly complicated but then, a sense of familiarity washed over our home. A quiet slowness that I have not felt for the last 3 years. It was absolutly delicious. My table is full again but at the same time my husband and I have for the first time in our lives, more quiet times. Sometimes the house is full of people and it reminds me of the days I shopped at Sam’s Club and was able to grill something for a group of teens in a flash and then we would have a firepit.  But now that is peppered with an empty house and we look at each other , decide it’s date night , and off we go to enjoy this quite and spontanious time. After 26 years of marriage that started with us having kids within the first year, spontanious alone time was nothing we have ever had. I am enjoying it.

One thing I have missed was weekend waffles. I use to have this clunky old waffle maker. It did it’s job but, always without fail, no matter what we did, we had to toss the first waffles out. It drove me nuts. But once that was over, and I had the rhythm down we would be enjoying some of the best waffles ever. 

While I wont lie and say I don’t have a store bought pancake mix in the house. I do. I really prefer my own homemade pancake & waffle mix. There is many a reason as to why I stopped making my own mix. They are mostly excuses as you will see this is way to easy to make. Then the waffle iron finally kicked the applicance bucket. I washed up the canister that held my homemade mix and that was it for what feels like forever and a day since I made up that mix and made homemade waffles.

It so happened my son was home as I was using some locally picked strawberries to make jam. We sat laughing and talking and he shared how when he was smaller and I user to make jam (another thing I have not done in years)  he always hoped a few jars wouldn’t set. The reason being we would use the more liquid jam as strawberry sauce for ice cream and waffles.  Who knew that what I thought was huge mistake made my kids so happy.  We kept at making the jam and I said I hoped a few jars didn’t set too. Maybe I would make pancakes this coming weekend and we could use the “mistakes” on them. 

My birthday was a few days later and this same son, who is ever thoughtful and thinks with his tummy a lot. A quality I adore about him. Gave me a very nice waffle maker for my birthday. I have to say I am over the top happy with this gift as it is much nicer than my old one, stores easy and who knew these things came with  setting to brown the waffles or make them more crunchy.  Plus, I get to be in the kitchen cooking up things that not only make my family happy but make me happy seeing their smiles. Win, Win!!

  
So of course I got out my old family cookbook and made up some of my homemade pancake and waffle mix. 

Pancake & Waffle Mix

  • 10 cups of all purpose flour (I love to use half wheat and half white)
  • 7 tablespoons baking powder
  • 2 1/2 tsps salt
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 3 tablespoons of sugar

In a large airtight container measure out all ingredients and then mix. I use to mix it with a whisk, put the lid on and then pass to one of my kids to shake up. 

To use the mix you will need the following:

  • 1 1/4 cups of mix
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons of butter

Heat up your griddle or waffle maker first. Then mix all your ingredients together. Cook on a hot lightly oiled or buttered griddle or waffle maker. Makes about 8 to 10 pancakes or batches of waffles depending on size of your waffle maker.  I keep the waffles in the oven on the warm setting while I finish cooking the waffles if folks are not up up yet. 

  
I’d love to tell you that I had a couple of failed jars of jam. Sadly I didn’t. They all set perfectly. So I whipped up a quick sauce for the pancakes.  We had a house full of sleepover guests when I made these and so my husband and I decided to be spontanous and take our breakfast out on the deck to enjoy. It was good we did as when my youngest son got up he was covered in a very bad poison ivy rash and had a bug bite taht he was having an allergy reaction to it. So ended up our quiet momen and off to the doctors we went. You gotta love life and take the time together when you can.

  
Savor the moments!

Shelly
Wanting to learn how simple it is to be healthy? Need some help with health and lifestyle choices? Be sure to click the link on the right hand side of thie page to learn more about what I do as a health coach.  For the month of June in celebration of my birthday I am waiving my fee for a Discovery Session. That’s a 45 min session with me for free. Just mention the code “birthday” when you fill out the form or email me. 

Leave a Reply

