Grateful for tomatoes (part 1) Poached Cod

I’ve been a little busy in the kitchen lately. Trying out new recipes, working on little projects and planning. It’s been a wonderful and much needed break as I jump out of the world of banking,( what was I thinking?) and reconnect to what is important to me. More on that in another post.

As I type it’s raining outside and there is the possibility we have a hurricane headed our way. The crazy part about that is, my husband just completed all the work on repairing our sandblasted home from the last two we had. The house looks beautiful with the new front porch he built to the paint and trim work he did. I’ll just pray and surround the house in white light and hope for the best.

The weather must be just perfect finally for tomatoes. I have an abundance of the cherry tomatoes and my neighbor seems to have an abundance of large beauties herself. We often open the front door to find a tray of tomatoes sitting on the steps and I have seen her walking down freshly made sauce and bagged pasta to an elderly neighbor. This woman has a heart of gold.

Making sauce is easy. I never can mine due to  the whole nobody can really answer the question is it safe and if so how to do it correctly. I’ll leave that to the experts thank you. I in the past have frozen sauce. It’s easy enough.  This year I took a cheaters way with recent gift of tomatoes from my neighbor and made a quick simple puree/sauce of sorts that I stuck in the fridge for later in the week to cook with. The results were so awesome I did it again with the next gift tray of tomatoes.   Maybe I should call it lazy girl sauce. No cooking required.

image

Here’s all you need:

  • tomatoes
  • dried spices (optional) pinch of salt, pepper, basil oregano, etc.
  • a food processor or blender
  • jars or containers to store in

All you need to do is chop up your tomatoes to make it easy to process. toss them in the food processor with the spices and hit pulse untill you get to the puree or sauce you want. Pour into your container and pop in the fridge and use within5-7 days.

Leaving the tomatoes naked in the jar with no seasonings allows you to figure out what you want to do with them. I used the first batch to poach cod fish. Which turned out really well.

Poached Cod

  • your freshly made tomato sauce (or canned)
  • cod fish cut into serving size pieces
  • oregano, basil, red pepper flakes
  • garlic , smashed
  • chopped onion
  • olive oil

In a large pan heat the oil over med high heat. Add your onion and saute untill soft. Add the garlic and spices and stir and cook for about 1 minute. Now add your homemade tomato sauce. Stir and heat untill slightly bubbly. Now slip your cod fish into and sprinkle the with more of the spices if you wish. Put a lid on and cook on a low heat until the fish is flakey. About 5 mins or so depending on the thickness of your fish.

Enjoy over pasta or with a nice hunk of sourdough bread.

Next time I’ll share another tomato recipe along with something else I did with my tomatoes that did extend their shelf life.

Untill next time!

Shelly

Leave a Reply

