Happiness in a cup of spicy warm milk (Chai tea)

While everyone else is having pumpkin spice fever I have been happily working with apples and other spices to warm me up as the seasons change here in New England.

I have a love for everything India. I’ve never really been able to explain it. I know it has been there since I was very young. Much younger than 10 years old.  While  in my 20’s I was fortunate enough to take a class from Ayurvedic doctor, Scott Gerson and get introduced to the ancient way of Indian medicine, Ayurveda.  Later that same year I took a cooking class on Indian cooking and my passion just took off.  It’s not just the smells and tastes of Indian cooking that got to me. It is the simple use of food that is also medicine in their culture that hooked me.

The use of spices and foods can help the body adjust as the seasons change. I know for me, going into fall is often hard. I feel tired, ungrounded and if I don’t take care of myself, I will catch colds a lot this time of year.  This time of year can be busy with school, and fun fall activities but for my Dosha, body type in Ayurveda,  it’s a time to make sure I take a little extra care of myself with a little bit more of a selfcare routine and some foods that help me make the adjustment to cooler and breezier days with less light.

My favorite way to warm up both my body and soothe my mind is spiced milk. Now you might know this as Chai.  A chai has black tea. You can use any tea in the recipe I am going to share below but for a warming milk that will help you fall asleep after long stressful day, just omit any tea at all.  The warm spicy milk will help relax your nerves and fall to sleep.

If you are someone who can’t do cow’s milk I suggest using goat milk which is lactoss free, or almond or what ever alternative milk you like.

image

 

The things kitchen tools you will need are :

  • a small pot
  • a whisk or spoon
  • strainer

Yes, this will take a little time but that is part of the magic. You are slowing down, taking time to do something special for yourself. You are taking time out to care for your body and soul.

image

Spicy Hot Milk

serves 2

  • 1 cup of milk (or milk alternative)
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1/4 tsp cardamom
  • 3-4 cardamom pods
  • 1/4 dry ginger
  • 1/4 cloves (whole)
  • 2 whole star anise
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • optional 1 tea bag- suggestions are black, green or roobios

Simmer all the ingredients in a small pot for about 15-20 mins. Do not boil your milk. You want to warm it slowly. Stir a few times. Strain and enjoy in your favorite chair, under a blanket or in bed with a good book.

 

What’s your favorite way to warm up and do a little self care in the fall? Leave your comments below

 

I love sharing about doshas and ayurvedic cooking with others in my health coaching session. If your interested in learning more shoot me an email and we can schedule an appointment for a session. You don’t have to live near me, I love working with clients via skype or phone.

Ok next time, part two of my abundance with tomatoes Which my neighbor mentioned they were bringing me more to work with. Yay!

Shelly

 

 

Leave a Reply

