Amazing apple deal means canning and treats!

When we use to live in another part of Connecticut, back when my 5 kids were small. I use to like to load them into the car and take a long and winding road to small country store & apple barn. The kids would nap and I always felt like I was getting a mini vacation or at least a break from our tiny apartment. Once in the store I would enjoy looking at all the wonderful goodies. They had handmade candles, salves, pies, donuts and fresh cider. Heading home the kids were excited we would be warming up cideer and they they would have a donut.

We moved out of the area and liked to go apple picking at another farm. We spent a good number of years doing this and my little winding road and apple barn slipped from my mind.

Now the kids are grown and doing their own thing and our youngest has lots of soccer games and then goes and plays sports with his friends in the afternoon. Apple picking was his idea this year but then he changed his mind. Me, I still wanted apples. So one day when both my husband and I were home, we hit the back roads and drove to the apple barn. The leaves were just starting to change, the sky was gray and there was a little mist in the air. It was a near perfect fall day.

My favorite things about this place is what they call #2 apples or deer apples. The apples are the ones that are not “pretty”. Nothing was wrong with them. Maybe a bruise here or there but nothing worse than you would find at the local grocery store. The thing is you get them at a deal. A really good deal. I got 17+ lbs of apples for only $15! That’s less than a dollar a pound and way less than the local grocery store or pick your own.

The downside is you gotta do something with all those apples. I had a plan.  I wanted to can a bunch of apple pie filling , make a pie and a few other things.

image

Canning apples is easy and making pie filling means you have ready to go apples for pies, crisps and to top over ice cream in a pinch. It’s a lot easier than you would think.

I put up about 9 quarts of apple pie filling. My husband was happy to man my amish apple peeler/slicer while I got things ready to go. It was a fun morning in the kitchen on a cold and rainy day.

What follows is my apple pie filling recipe. The filling will be water in the jar. You can not add flour or cornstarch to the jar when you do this. You just add it when you are ready to use. If your making a crisp, don’t add anything.

Some of the kitchen tools you will need are:

  • jars
  • rings and lids
  • a large pot to boil the jars in

image

Canned Apple Pie Filling

Makes about 9 quarts

  • about 12 lbs of apples-peeled and cut in to slices
  • 4 3/4 cups of sugar
  • 3 tablespoons of cinnamon
  • 5 teaspoons of nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons of ginger
  • 2 teaspoons of cloves
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 10 cups of water
  1. Mix all the ingredients except the apples, in a large pot. Bring to a light boil and then simmer the sauce for 20-25 minutes. It will thicken slightly.
  2. Place another large pot to boil (process) the jars in once filled.
  3. Place apples in prepared and cleaned jars.
  4. Pour the syrup into each of the jars. Filling to the top and making sure to get air bubbles out.
  5. Place lids on jar, tighten and place in pot of water that should be boiling.
  6. Process jars in boiling water for 20 mins. Using tongs , take jars out of water and allow to cool.

 

When I was ready, I used my favorite homemade pie crust , added 1/4 cup of flour to my apples and poured into the bottom crust, placed the top crust on and baked. Easy as…well…pie!

imageimage

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

